A Windows 98 & ME forum. Win98banter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Win98banter forum » Windows 98 » General
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Can onl;y open ONE window of Firefox



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 16th 18, 02:02 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 25
Default Can onl;y open ONE window of Firefox

I posted this days ago, as part of another thread, and never got any
reply.

I mentioned removing K-Meleon, which was my default browser for years,
but no longer works properly with the HTTPS sites.

But now it seems I have a bigger problem. Firefox is the default and
only browser in use now. This is a Win98se setup, with kernel-ex and
Firefox 3.6.28.

What happens, is that if I have an open FF window, I can not click on
another .HTML file. Or I should say it wont open if I do click on it.

For example, I often have a FF site open for the local weather radar.
If I am reading a newsgroup and there is a link in a page (Such as(
www.website.com
When I click on that link, NOTHING happens. I must first close the open
FF page.

Is this normal FF behavior, or is something screwed up?
It cant be in the FF settings, because I uninstalled FF entirely, and
reinstalled this same version from scratch, and did not change any
settings, other than setting the homepage to *blank*. (so i could test
offline).

This is ridiculous. There is no reason that a second FF page shoulod not
open, without closing the open one first. I'm about ready to just
restore the original setup from my backups which will put K-Meleon back.
At least K-meleon opened multiple windows, and I could just copy and
paste the URL to FF when K-meleon did not open the site correctly.

Any ideas????


  #2  
Old February 16th 18, 07:28 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
Ammammata
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default Can onl;y open ONE window of Firefox

Il giorno Fri 16 Feb 2018 03:02:56a, ** ha inviato su
microsoft.public.windowsxp.general il messaggio
. Vediamo cosa ha scritto:

This is a Win98se setup,

This is ridiculous.


I agree.

--
/-\ /\/\ /\/\ /-\ /\/\ /\/\ /-\ T /-\
-=- -=- -=- -=- -=- -=- -=- -=- - -=-
http://www.bb2002.it

............ [ al lavoro ] ...........
  #3  
Old February 16th 18, 07:20 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
JJ[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 33
Default Can onl;y open ONE window of Firefox

On Thu, 15 Feb 2018 20:02:56 -0600, wrote:

I posted this days ago, as part of another thread, and never got any
reply.

I mentioned removing K-Meleon, which was my default browser for years,
but no longer works properly with the HTTPS sites.

But now it seems I have a bigger problem. Firefox is the default and
only browser in use now. This is a Win98se setup, with kernel-ex and
Firefox 3.6.28.

What happens, is that if I have an open FF window, I can not click on
another .HTML file. Or I should say it wont open if I do click on it.

For example, I often have a FF site open for the local weather radar.
If I am reading a newsgroup and there is a link in a page (Such as(
www.website.com
When I click on that link, NOTHING happens. I must first close the open
FF page.

Is this normal FF behavior, or is something screwed up?
It cant be in the FF settings, because I uninstalled FF entirely, and
reinstalled this same version from scratch, and did not change any
settings, other than setting the homepage to *blank*. (so i could test
offline).

This is ridiculous. There is no reason that a second FF page shoulod not
open, without closing the open one first. I'm about ready to just
restore the original setup from my backups which will put K-Meleon back.
At least K-meleon opened multiple windows, and I could just copy and
paste the URL to FF when K-meleon did not open the site correctly.

Any ideas????


Try increasing the page file size, if it's still less than 2GB.
  #4  
Old February 16th 18, 08:22 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 25
Default Can onl;y open ONE window of Firefox

On Sat, 17 Feb 2018 02:20:11 +0700, JJ wrote:

On Thu, 15 Feb 2018 20:02:56 -0600, wrote:

I posted this days ago, as part of another thread, and never got any
reply.

I mentioned removing K-Meleon, which was my default browser for years,
but no longer works properly with the HTTPS sites.

But now it seems I have a bigger problem. Firefox is the default and
only browser in use now. This is a Win98se setup, with kernel-ex and
Firefox 3.6.28.

What happens, is that if I have an open FF window, I can not click on
another .HTML file. Or I should say it wont open if I do click on it.

For example, I often have a FF site open for the local weather radar.
If I am reading a newsgroup and there is a link in a page (Such as(
www.website.com
When I click on that link, NOTHING happens. I must first close the open
FF page.

Is this normal FF behavior, or is something screwed up?
It cant be in the FF settings, because I uninstalled FF entirely, and
reinstalled this same version from scratch, and did not change any
settings, other than setting the homepage to *blank*. (so i could test
offline).

This is ridiculous. There is no reason that a second FF page shoulod not
open, without closing the open one first. I'm about ready to just
restore the original setup from my backups which will put K-Meleon back.
At least K-meleon opened multiple windows, and I could just copy and
paste the URL to FF when K-meleon did not open the site correctly.

Any ideas????


Try increasing the page file size, if it's still less than 2GB.


I just looked in the Firefox settings and I am not seeing anything
called "page file". Or do I need to look in about:CONFIG?

One thing I may not have been clear about.

I CAN open multiple tabs, or even open other windows, from within
Firefox. That works fine.
But if I click on a web address (URL) located anywhere outside of FF,
such as a web URL in a newsgroup message, a shortcut to a website on my
desktop, or a saved website .htm file, it will NOT open, if another FF
page is open.

With K-Meleon as my default browser, I could keep opening websites
regardless where there was a URL posted, and could continue to open them
until I overloaded my computer. It was not unusual for me to have 20 or
more websites loaded, before my system began slowing down.


  #5  
Old February 16th 18, 11:03 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
Computer Nerd Kev[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 64
Default Can onl;y open ONE window of Firefox

In microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion wrote:
On Sat, 17 Feb 2018 02:20:11 +0700, JJ wrote:
One thing I may not have been clear about.

I CAN open multiple tabs, or even open other windows, from within
Firefox. That works fine.
But if I click on a web address (URL) located anywhere outside of FF,
such as a web URL in a newsgroup message, a shortcut to a website on my
desktop, or a saved website .htm file, it will NOT open, if another FF
page is open.

With K-Meleon as my default browser, I could keep opening websites
regardless where there was a URL posted, and could continue to open them
until I overloaded my computer. It was not unusual for me to have 20 or
more websites loaded, before my system began slowing down.


Try executing Firefox with a URL at the command prompt and see whether
it spits out some error message there which you don't normally see.

I think my install of Firefox 3.6.28 on Win XP is set to open items
like saved files as new tabs if a window is already open (I'm on a
different PC now so can't check). Perhaps in your set-up this is
working so far as to stop the new window from opening, but
something's preventing it from opening a new tab instead.

Did you keep your old "profile" when you reinstalled? If so, I've
heard of many strange Firefox problems being fixed by starting a
new Firefox profile. You could also try running in Firefox's
"Safe Mode".

--
__ __
#_ |\| | _#
  #6  
Old February 17th 18, 06:36 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 25
Default Can onl;y open ONE window of Firefox

On Fri, 16 Feb 2018 23:03:42 +0000 (UTC), lid
(Computer Nerd Kev) wrote:

In microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
wrote:
On Sat, 17 Feb 2018 02:20:11 +0700, JJ wrote:
One thing I may not have been clear about.

I CAN open multiple tabs, or even open other windows, from within
Firefox. That works fine.
But if I click on a web address (URL) located anywhere outside of FF,
such as a web URL in a newsgroup message, a shortcut to a website on my
desktop, or a saved website .htm file, it will NOT open, if another FF
page is open.

With K-Meleon as my default browser, I could keep opening websites
regardless where there was a URL posted, and could continue to open them
until I overloaded my computer. It was not unusual for me to have 20 or
more websites loaded, before my system began slowing down.


Try executing Firefox with a URL at the command prompt and see whether
it spits out some error message there which you don't normally see.

I think my install of Firefox 3.6.28 on Win XP is set to open items
like saved files as new tabs if a window is already open (I'm on a
different PC now so can't check). Perhaps in your set-up this is
working so far as to stop the new window from opening, but
something's preventing it from opening a new tab instead.

Did you keep your old "profile" when you reinstalled? If so, I've
heard of many strange Firefox problems being fixed by starting a
new Firefox profile. You could also try running in Firefox's
"Safe Mode".


No, I did not keep my profile or anything. (installed). However I did
zip up the old installed one and saved it as well as a copy of the
registry for that date. I evne made sure the folders were removed so as
not to save anything. Then I ran RegSeeker and cleaned all references of
FF from the regisrty. I did all of that BEFORE reinstalling a FRESH
copy.

After finding the new fresh copy install of FF did not fix the problem,
I restored it back toi the way it was, to retain all my settings
bookmarks etc.

Can you please tell me how to enter this at the command line.
(a sample).
My firefox is installed in C:\program files\firefox

Just for the heck of it, I went and installed a win98 compatible version
of Seamonkey. That seems a little less flakey than K-meleon, and I
wanted a second browser anyhow. After once again, backing up my
regisrty, I set Seamonkey as the defaut browser (from within the
Seamonkey settings). I have no problem with that browser. I can click on
as many web URLs as I want and they open in a new Seamonkey window. I'd
rather have Firefox as my default browser, but till I can fix this
problem, at least I can open all URLs without having to close my
previous webpage.

Even if FF is open to a blank page (as my homepage), I can not click on
a web URL and have FF open. I must close that opened page first. This
seems so stupid.....

My guess is there is something in the registry preventing this. Just
like when I had K-meleon as the default, clicking on "set FF as the
default browser did not work". (from within the FF settings).

Thanks

  #7  
Old February 17th 18, 10:58 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
Computer Nerd Kev[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 64
Default Can onl;y open ONE window of Firefox

In microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion wrote:

No, I did not keep my profile or anything. (installed). However I did
zip up the old installed one and saved it as well as a copy of the
registry for that date. I evne made sure the folders were removed so as
not to save anything. Then I ran RegSeeker and cleaned all references of
FF from the regisrty. I did all of that BEFORE reinstalling a FRESH
copy.

After finding the new fresh copy install of FF did not fix the problem,
I restored it back toi the way it was, to retain all my settings
bookmarks etc.

Can you please tell me how to enter this at the command line.
(a sample).
My firefox is installed in C:\program files\firefox


I put a little program on my Windows installs that allows me to open
a command prompt in folders using the right-click menu, but the old
way is to open the "run" window, type "cmd", then with the command
prompt open type:
"cd C:\progra~1\firefox
firefox.exe"
Assuming the Firefox executable is named "firefox.exe", not
"firefox-bin.exe" ("firefo~1.exe") or something similar.

I can't remember how well Win98 handles long file names, so
shortening the directories to eight characters might not be
required.

Just for the heck of it, I went and installed a win98 compatible version
of Seamonkey. That seems a little less flakey than K-meleon, and I
wanted a second browser anyhow. After once again, backing up my
regisrty, I set Seamonkey as the defaut browser (from within the
Seamonkey settings). I have no problem with that browser. I can click on
as many web URLs as I want and they open in a new Seamonkey window. I'd
rather have Firefox as my default browser, but till I can fix this
problem, at least I can open all URLs without having to close my
previous webpage.

Even if FF is open to a blank page (as my homepage), I can not click on
a web URL and have FF open. I must close that opened page first. This
seems so stupid.....

My guess is there is something in the registry preventing this. Just
like when I had K-meleon as the default, clicking on "set FF as the
default browser did not work". (from within the FF settings).


Either that or some standard bug when using that version of Firefox
on (that version of?) Win98 or (that version of?) KernelEx.

--
__ __
#_ |\| | _#
  #8  
Old February 18th 18, 04:42 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
Steve Hayes[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Can onl;y open ONE window of Firefox

On Thu, 15 Feb 2018 20:02:56 -0600, wrote:

What happens, is that if I have an open FF window, I can not click on
another .HTML file. Or I should say it wont open if I do click on it.

For example, I often have a FF site open for the local weather radar.
If I am reading a newsgroup and there is a link in a page (Such as(
www.website.com
When I click on that link, NOTHING happens. I must first close the open
FF page.

Is this normal FF behavior, or is something screwed up?
It cant be in the FF settings, because I uninstalled FF entirely, and
reinstalled this same version from scratch, and did not change any
settings, other than setting the homepage to *blank*. (so i could test
offline).

This is ridiculous. There is no reason that a second FF page shoulod not
open, without closing the open one first. I'm about ready to just
restore the original setup from my backups which will put K-Meleon back.
At least K-meleon opened multiple windows, and I could just copy and
paste the URL to FF when K-meleon did not open the site correctly.


Did it work with Firefox before on the same machine?

I'm not sure which version of Firefox introduced tabbed browsin, so
that you could open another page without having to open another
instance of the browser, but could that be the problem?


--
Steve Hayes
http://www.khanya.org.za/stevesig.htm
http://khanya.wordpress.com
  #9  
Old February 19th 18, 11:19 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 25
Default Can onl;y open ONE window of Firefox

On Sun, 18 Feb 2018 06:42:44 +0200, Steve Hayes
wrote:

On Thu, 15 Feb 2018 20:02:56 -0600, wrote:

What happens, is that if I have an open FF window, I can not click on
another .HTML file. Or I should say it wont open if I do click on it.

For example, I often have a FF site open for the local weather radar.
If I am reading a newsgroup and there is a link in a page (Such as(
www.website.com
When I click on that link, NOTHING happens. I must first close the open
FF page.

Is this normal FF behavior, or is something screwed up?
It cant be in the FF settings, because I uninstalled FF entirely, and
reinstalled this same version from scratch, and did not change any
settings, other than setting the homepage to *blank*. (so i could test
offline).

This is ridiculous. There is no reason that a second FF page shoulod not
open, without closing the open one first. I'm about ready to just
restore the original setup from my backups which will put K-Meleon back.
At least K-meleon opened multiple windows, and I could just copy and
paste the URL to FF when K-meleon did not open the site correctly.


Did it work with Firefox before on the same machine?

I'm not sure which version of Firefox introduced tabbed browsin, so
that you could open another page without having to open another
instance of the browser, but could that be the problem?


FF was never the default browser. I once used IE, but then K-Meleon
became the default. FF was always slow to load, so I never set it as the
default. Plus I liked the features of K-meleon better. K-meleon was also
a tabbed browser, and so was FF versions 3.x. (which this is). I believe
FF 2.x was also tabbed, from what I recall.

I am wondering if this problem would happen in FF 2.x? I may uninstall
again, and go back to version 2.x. Win98 was not intended for any
version of FF above 2.x, but Kernel-Ex allowes it to work, and it works
quite well. Kernel-ex says FF should work up to (I think) version 6.x,
but they dont work well at all.

Seamonkey is also tabbed, but was never a favorite of mine. I just
installed it again, and it is now the default browser, which was no
problem at all to set that way. But Seamonkey is also not able to handle
the HTTPS sites (just like K-Meleon), so it does nothing but pop up
security error messages.

But I'm leaving it installed for now, because at least some program
loads when I click on a URL, and the few sites that are still HTTP will
load fine.

At the rate the internet is going to all that excessive security crap, I
doubt I will be able to use the internet any more in 6 months from now.
(except the newsgroups and email). I guess their security is working.
Pretty soon no one will be able to use the web, so it will be secure,
because no one will be on it.

Whats most bizarre, is that the web was very secure and 1000 times more
useful back in the 90s and early 2000s. Then all the bloat was added
which meant all those scripts, and CSS files and thats when the web
became insecure. (and far less useful).

By August of this year, I will likely have my phone line disconnected. I
only have it now, for my dialup internet. I never use the phone, now
that I have a prepaid cellphone, and need to use up the minutes or they
go to waste, and my prepaid flip phone costs less than half what my
landline costs.






  #10  
Old February 24th 18, 11:49 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsxp.general,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
Computer Nerd Kev[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 64
Default Can onl;y open ONE window of Firefox

On 17 Feb 2018, Computer Nerd Kev wrote:
I think my install of Firefox 3.6.28 on Win XP is set to
open items like saved files as new tabs if a window is
already open (I'm on a different PC now so can't check).
Perhaps in your set-up this is working so far as to stop
the new window from opening, but something's preventing it
from opening a new tab instead.


"Options Tabs Open new windows in a new tab instead"
Controls this behaviour.

--
__ __
#_ |\| | _#
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
open window limit open window limits General 2 March 15th 05 04:14 AM
Is it possible to get Quickview to open in a maximised window? Tom Improving Performance 0 March 1st 05 02:52 AM
Folders won't open in same window General 0 October 6th 04 05:09 PM
cant open more than 1 window kitty New Users 0 August 22nd 04 08:44 PM
Open an IE shortcut in a new window??? Joe General 5 July 1st 04 01:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 Win98banter.
The comments are property of their posters.