A Windows 98 & ME forum. Win98banter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Win98banter forum » Windows 98 » General
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

New HDD, has corrupted Data - AGAIN



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #32  
Old December 20th 17, 12:41 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
philo
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,318
Default New HDD, has corrupted Data - AGAIN

On 12/19/2017 06:56 AM, Paul wrote:

snip

e in the newsgroups tested
at the time, is they inserted a SATA PCI card into
the machine. And the BIOS just ignored it, and the
OS couldn't use it. So again, if you use hardware
cards the BIOS has never heard of, there will be
problems.

But these really aren't surprises. It's to be
expected things like this will happen.

I was booting something just yesterday, and in the
boot log on the screen it said "18493843248 GB disk".
Then the next line said "this is a really big disk".
No ****. So again, modern software is never prepared
for surprises, even if the software was written
in 2017. I don't know how the booting OS in that
case, had managed to query the disk drive, but
it got an absurdly large (wrong) size from it. No software
is really "prepared for infinity and beyond" :-)

The main problem with old computers, is there's no
decent web browser to use on them. That's why the
machines sit in the Junk Room.

** Paul





A few years ago I gave away a huge, dual power supply server with a lot
of SCSI drives in it.

Worked just fine but it absolutely would have run up the electric bill


For the last few years I've been getting those inexpensive cpu/mobo combos.

No problems with them and they take 25 watts maybe
  #33  
Old December 20th 17, 01:44 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
JT[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3
Default New HDD, has corrupted Data - AGAIN

Ammammata wrote:

Il giorno Tue 19 Dec 2017 12:12:01p, ** ha inviato su
microsoft.public.windowsxp.general il messaggio
. Vediamo cosa ha
scritto:

You sound like one of todays spoiled rotten youth who cant stand to
have anything more than 2 years old


bull**** [cutting all the trash talk you wrote]

I'm 50yo, my home personal computer is a 10+ yo laptop where I put an
SSD to make it faster than light, and I'm saving money for my twins,
using free software (linux mint)

this doesn't mean that my opinion is what I wrote above: at work I
have an updated (4yo) computer just because my job requires such a
device; at home I make daily backups because I know that sooner or
later the hw will die

and to close this discussion, my 1993 486dx still runs windows nt4,
the 1996 double pentium-pro runs w2k and the [unknown] thinkpad
380ED, with MSDOS 6, allows me to play Duke Nukem 3D whenever I want.

r cre ohban znab, irqv qv naqner nssnaphyb, r cevzn qv cneyner znyr
qv dhnyphab snv nyzrab svagn qv vasbeznegv fh puv fvn r pbfn snppvn,
pbtyvbar


Close as I could translate...


and for good hand, you go **** yourself, before you talk bad about
someone doing at least pretend to know who he is and what he does,
asshole.

--

  #34  
Old December 20th 17, 02:48 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 25
Default New HDD, has corrupted Data - AGAIN

On Tue, 19 Dec 2017 13:50:10 -0500, Paul wrote:

I managed to install Win98SE on an Asrock VIA board with a Core2
processor, and it screams. Even though it only can use one core
of the processor. So yes, you can run Win98 on at least some
modern hardware.


Roughly when (year) did they stop making mobos and drivers for Win98
compatibility? I've been thinking about getting a faster machine that I
can still run Win98 on. Often those old machines sell for little to
nothing on ebay and I'd kind of like to have a different tower case
anyhow, since I cant close mine due to the oversize power supply.
I'd most likely get another Lenovo (IBM) machine since they last
forever. It WONT be a Dell though....

I always wanted to see just how fast Win98 can run on newer hardware.
plus it would be nice to get a MOBO with USB 2 ports.

  #35  
Old December 20th 17, 03:35 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
98 Guy[_5_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 29
Default New HDD, has corrupted Data - AGAIN

wrote:

I managed to install Win98SE on an Asrock VIA board with a Core2
processor, and it screams.


Yes, I also have a win-98 system running on a socket-775 Core2
motherboard with Via chipset.

Roughly when (year) did they stop making mobos and drivers for Win98
compatibility?


I'm not familiar at all with AMD-based systems so I will relate my
Intel-based knowledge here.

Win-98 will run on all motherboards with Intel socket-478 CPU. That
generally means 8xx series chipsets (845, 865, 875). There will be
win-9x drivers for all motherboard components on those boards (AGP/PCI,
IDE, SATA (some will have sata), USB, on-board or integrated video, etc.
Those boards were "current" from around 2000/2001 to as late as 2003 -
2005 time frame. These boards were the last to have AC-97 on-board
audio (which also have win-9x drivers).

The "core" (socket 775) boards were next, and they ran out of steam
around 2007. There will be no win-9x drivers for those boards unless
they have Via chipset (PT880 is the most common) and possibly ALI
chipset. Those boards will almost always have SATA, and (if VIA
chipset) will have Win-9x drivers for SATA as well as everything else
except for on-board HD audio. All 775-based boards will have HD-audio,
and to my knowledge there is no workable solution for win-98 and HD
audio. You will have to add a PCI sound card (Creative sound blaster is
most common) to have win-98 working with sound on these systems.

So if you are looking for the most high-performance motherboards that
can natively support most or almost all integrated functions, then you
will be looking for Socket-775 with Via chipset. The Asrock 4CoreDual
VSTA being one such board - it has both AGP and PCIe slot for video
(only one of them can be used - not both at same time). This is useful
if you have AGP card with win-9x drivers. PCIe video cards for win-9x
are problematic. Win-9x can't handle PCIe or AGP video cards with more
than 256 mb ram on the video card. There is also no USB-3 solution for
win-98 (and in reality there are very few USB-3 solutions for XP).

There are ways to get win-98 somewhat functional on some of the newer
motherboards, but unless you stuff the board with additional PCI cards
(for hard drive, USB, etc) it is pointless to do that.

Regarding win-98 and SATA, the generic SATA controllers made by Silicon
Image (SI) - specifically the SATA-1 controllers (SIL3112, 3114) have
win-98 drivers. Those controller chips will be found on some socket-478
motherboards, maybe some 775 boards, and many aftermarket PCI sata
cards. Adding SATA drives to a win-98 system by using an expansion SATA
PCI card (not PCI-express card) is relatively easy and works well. I
have a variety of SATA drives, from 250 gb to 1.5 tb, that I connect to
my win-98 systems. Win-98 has no problems working with these large
drives, even when they're formatted as a single FAT32 volume.
  #36  
Old December 20th 17, 05:13 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Paul[_6_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 23
Default New HDD, has corrupted Data - AGAIN

wrote:
On Tue, 19 Dec 2017 13:50:10 -0500, Paul wrote:

I managed to install Win98SE on an Asrock VIA board with a Core2
processor, and it screams. Even though it only can use one core
of the processor. So yes, you can run Win98 on at least some
modern hardware.


Roughly when (year) did they stop making mobos and drivers for Win98
compatibility? I've been thinking about getting a faster machine that I
can still run Win98 on. Often those old machines sell for little to
nothing on ebay and I'd kind of like to have a different tower case
anyhow, since I cant close mine due to the oversize power supply.
I'd most likely get another Lenovo (IBM) machine since they last
forever. It WONT be a Dell though....

I always wanted to see just how fast Win98 can run on newer hardware.
plus it would be nice to get a MOBO with USB 2 ports.


This is the motherboard I was using at the time. "4CoreDual-SATA2 R2.0"

https://www.asrock.com/MB/VIA/4CoreD...s.asp#Download

It's got a little of everything, but it
does have plenty of limits.

Don't overpay for it - it was only $65 Canadian at the time.

4 PCI slots (I might have had one of my CMI8738 sound cards in there...)
1 AGP8X slot (for my FX5200 AGP, Win98SE driver)
1 PCIe x16 slot (wired x4, there was a compatible video card list)
(I never even tested this. I doubt Win98 has the
arch for this either, as it would only have GART.)
DDR400 two slots or
DDR2-533 (it says 667 but just use low CAS DDR2-533 in it, as it's
as stable as the Rock of Gibraltar that way.)
Core2 Dual or Quad - try a dual core, as the quad slowed down a bit
for some reason.
- FSB is limited to FSB1066. I used an FSB800
processor. It would be nice to use an E8400
with FSB1333, but the chipset won't go that high
on the FSB.

I used an E4700, but there is also the E7600. The reason I didn't
go with the E7600 is because I didn't know whether the chipset
(overclocked when running at FSB1066) would handle it well or not.

https://ark.intel.com/products/34441...Hz-800-MHz-FSB
https://ark.intel.com/products/41495...z-1066-MHz-FSB

The only time the amount of cache matters, is when you compress with 7ZIP.

The R2 board (revision 2), they changed the clock generator
chip, then they didn't update the BIOS file with driver code
for the new clock generator. As a result, the board runs fine
if you don't overclock. The clockgen accepts BSEL signals
from the LGA775 socket that select the correct clock. However,
if you enter the BIOS and even touch the knob to turn up the
BCLK, the register writing code is all wrong for the
new clock gen, and the board goes nuts. So you can't overclock
using the BIOS.

I did manage to overclock it, doing a BSEL socket mod and
a VCore voltmod. But it wasn't stable so I turned it down again.
It ran for about 10 minutes at 3.2GHz or so.

A lot of fun for $65. The processor cost more than that.

It only really has one egregious sin. I plugged my WinTV
card into a PCI slot, and that triggers a workaround which
*ruins* performance. As soon as you unplug the WinTV (BT878)
card, everything returns to normal. I got another motherboard
to replace it at that point, a board that would not flinch
if a WinTV card was plugged in. I had no hint this was going
to happen, until I plugged in the card.

What happens when you plug in the WinTV card, is the disk
drive sustained read drops to 30MB/sec. As time passes
(around ten minutes), the disk drive drops to 20MB/sec.
At that level of I/O, this gets tired fast. If I wanted that
kind of speed, I'd use my Mac :-)

On the plus side, that board is really easy on power
consumption. The 65W processor uses 36W running Prime95,
and the VIA chipset is a miser on power. Because there
are no graphics in the Northbridge, and because the
PCIe lane count is only x4 lanes, it doesn't really have
a lot of high speed I/O. The AGP slot interface probably
used more power than anything else on the Northbridge.

The Southbridge only had two SATA ports, but the 8237S
supports SATA II drives, so the thing isn't all bad.
I've never tested any really fast drives on it, to see
if it had any sins to report. Like, use an SSD on it.

The board is really a "hackers delight". It's not
the best choice for someone who expects an all-you-can-eat
buffet. Everything you do is a little project.
The best BIOS for the motherboard, is a hacked version
done by a guy in Germany. Just to give you some idea.
He didn't fix the clockgen though, as I don't know if
the necessary code is floating around in the wild
for that. What the hacked BIOS did have, was working
EIST, something that Intel lawyers were trying to
prevent Asrock from giving to customers. EIST changes
the multiplier from say x9 to x6 on my other Core2 processor,
to save power when the desktop is idle. Intel wanted
to punish Asrock for continuing to ship a VIA chipset,
by revoking their right to put EIST on the motherboard.
The guy in Germany turned it back on again. The ease
with which the guy in Germany turned it back on,
tells me it was a legal issue, not a technical issue,
that prevented Asrock from turning that on, BIOS
release after BIOS release. Asrock never fixed that.
What was weird, is they kept releasing new BIOS
revisions, but there were a few things they just
refused to fix. I concluded from that, that lawyers
were involved. Intel at the time, was trying to squeeze
VIA out of the picture (they didn't license the next
bus interface to VIA, preventing VIA from making
newer chipsets).

If I was looking for such a product on Ebay, I'd look
for a whole system, and hope that the person selling
it, knew what to do to it :-)

If you put a quad processor on it, like an E6700,
it would make the system run hotter. And then, would
you try to run Win10 on it ? It would be fast enough
for that. But there was some issue with benchmarks
seeming to indicate some clock was getting turned
down a bit. Since I wasn't running a quad, I never
did any further research on it.

On the RAM, it officially takes 2x1GB DDR2-533 no problem.
The VIA web site says 2x1GB is the limit, yet I did plug
2x2GB into it, and it recognized the RAM. However, it
was throwing errors like crazy with the 2x2GB, which tells
you the BIOS wasn't "tuned" to run 2GB sticks. So even
VIA would not admit (on their web site) that it could
use 2GB sticks. Weird. With the 2x1GB plugged back in,
you could Prime95 all day long, no sweat. Very stable.

To install Win98, you do the basic install, then
you stop the install before it reboots, and edit
the file that limits "visible" RAM, to 512MB. Then
allow it to boot to Windows and the screen comes up
for the first time. I used Linux to edit that text file :-)
The machine had 2x1GB installed, which is too much for
Win98, but the file edit reduces the visible RAM to
a more comfortable 512MB. That's one of the reasons
it runs OK.

Paul
  #37  
Old December 20th 17, 07:47 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
Ammammata
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default New HDD, has corrupted Data - AGAIN

Il giorno Wed 20 Dec 2017 02:44:53a, *JT* ha inviato su
microsoft.public.windowsxp.general il messaggio
news
r cre ohban znab, irqv qv naqner nssnaphyb, r cevzn qv cneyner znyr
qv dhnyphab snv nyzrab svagn qv vasbeznegv fh puv fvn r pbfn snppvn,
pbtyvbar


Close as I could translate...


naq sbe tbbq unaq, lbh tb shpx lbhefrys, orsber lbh gnyx onq nobhg
fbzrbar qbvat ng yrnfg cergraq gb xabj jub ur vf naq jung ur qbrf,
nffubyr.



well, my idea was to obfuscate bad words (there are children reading the
ng) and leave the final comment as "private"

--
/-\ /\/\ /\/\ /-\ /\/\ /\/\ /-\ T /-\
-=- -=- -=- -=- -=- -=- -=- -=- - -=-
http://www.bb2002.it

............ [ al lavoro ] ...........
  #38  
Old December 21st 17, 01:20 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion,microsoft.public.windowsxp.general
JT[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3
Default New HDD, has corrupted Data - AGAIN

Ammammata wrote:

Il giorno Wed 20 Dec 2017 02:44:53a, JT ha inviato su
microsoft.public.windowsxp.general il messaggio
news
r cre ohban znab, irqv qv naqner nssnaphyb, r cevzn qv cneyner znyr
qv dhnyphab snv nyzrab svagn qv vasbeznegv fh puv fvn r pbfn

snppvn, pbtyvbar

Close as I could translate...


naq sbe tbbq unaq, lbh tb shpx lbhefrys, orsber lbh gnyx onq nobhg
fbzrbar qbvat ng yrnfg cergraq gb xabj jub ur vf naq jung ur qbrf,
nffubyr.



well, my idea was to obfuscate bad words (there are children reading
the ng) and leave the final comment as "private"


Oops!

Sorry about that.

JT

--

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corrupted COMCTL32.DLL Herbert Chan General 2 January 15th 06 04:11 AM
Corrupted Winsock jfs7 Software & Applications 1 October 4th 04 06:16 AM
Corrupted directories lanman General 4 September 7th 04 05:56 PM
corrupted files ?? bkelran General 2 July 7th 04 07:25 AM
corrupted file [email protected] Disk Drives 1 July 1st 04 12:07 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 Win98banter.
The comments are property of their posters.