A Windows 98 & ME forum. Win98banter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Win98banter forum » Windows ME » General
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Need Help Initializing Excel Spreadsheet Program



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 7th 05, 07:02 PM
jb999
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Need Help Initializing Excel Spreadsheet Program

Hi,

I'm using Excel 2000 which is running on Windows ME. When I open the menu
spreadsheet of a workbook with macros, I keep getting the following error:

Run-Time Error .... The Program is not initialized. An administrator must
initialize the program by starting it once.

I had no trouble installing the new Excel Add-In program. I am using a
personal laptop computer. I tried running the program in safe mode to see if
I could get around the error, but that didn't work.

I'm not sure what the error message means. Or how to correct it. I would
appreciate any help! Thanks!
  #2  
Old November 7th 05, 08:25 PM
Noel Paton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Need Help Initializing Excel Spreadsheet Program

Which Add-in are you using?? - does it require features not available in
either Win ME or in Office 2000?? (such as .NET).
Did you install the Add-in with your AV disabled (something to try, anyhow).

I would suggest that you repost this question to the Office groups - where
Excel specialist can assist.

--
Noel Paton (MS-MVP 2002-2006, Windows)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
http://www.crashfixpc.com/millsrpch.htm

http://tinyurl.com/6oztj

Please read http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm on how to post messages to NG's

"jb999" wrote in message
...
Hi,

I'm using Excel 2000 which is running on Windows ME. When I open the menu
spreadsheet of a workbook with macros, I keep getting the following error:

Run-Time Error .... The Program is not initialized. An administrator must
initialize the program by starting it once.

I had no trouble installing the new Excel Add-In program. I am using a
personal laptop computer. I tried running the program in safe mode to see
if
I could get around the error, but that didn't work.

I'm not sure what the error message means. Or how to correct it. I would
appreciate any help! Thanks!



  #3  
Old November 8th 05, 02:19 AM
jb999
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Need Help Initializing Excel Spreadsheet Program

Hi Noel,

Thanks for the reply.

The add-in is a specialized finance add-in that came on a CD-Rom in a
finance book. The only difference between this add-in and all my other
add-ins (they all work fine) is that it required me to download and install
Microsoft .NET Framework 1.1. Could the runtime error be caused by something
in the Microsoft.NET Framework?

I called the technical support group for the add-in. They insist that all I
need to do is to log onto my computer as the administrator and run the add-in
once and then all be fine. The problem is that it's my personal laptop and I
am the only user set up to run on it so I don't think this can be the problem.

I can add or delete any program. I can change the security settings, etc. of
any other program but this one. So it seems to me that there must be
something hardwired into the coding that's causing the probem.

Thanks for your help!

P.S. - Is there a way to tell for sure whether I am logged in as the
administrator for running this add-in? I'm running Windows ME.

"Noel Paton" wrote:

Which Add-in are you using?? - does it require features not available in
either Win ME or in Office 2000?? (such as .NET).
Did you install the Add-in with your AV disabled (something to try, anyhow).

I would suggest that you repost this question to the Office groups - where
Excel specialist can assist.

--
Noel Paton (MS-MVP 2002-2006, Windows)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
http://www.crashfixpc.com/millsrpch.htm

http://tinyurl.com/6oztj

Please read http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm on how to post messages to NG's

"jb999" wrote in message
...
Hi,

I'm using Excel 2000 which is running on Windows ME. When I open the menu
spreadsheet of a workbook with macros, I keep getting the following error:

Run-Time Error .... The Program is not initialized. An administrator must
initialize the program by starting it once.

I had no trouble installing the new Excel Add-In program. I am using a
personal laptop computer. I tried running the program in safe mode to see
if
I could get around the error, but that didn't work.

I'm not sure what the error message means. Or how to correct it. I would
appreciate any help! Thanks!




  #4  
Old November 8th 05, 07:58 AM
Noel Paton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Need Help Initializing Excel Spreadsheet Program

Win ME has NO Administrator/User mode - all users are admins.
Did you tell the support guys that you were using ME? - they may well have
assumed that you were on XP.
Have you updated the .NET framework since you installed it??

--
Noel Paton (MS-MVP 2002-2006, Windows)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
http://www.crashfixpc.com/millsrpch.htm

http://tinyurl.com/6oztj

Please read http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm on how to post messages to NG's

"jb999" wrote in message
...
Hi Noel,

Thanks for the reply.

The add-in is a specialized finance add-in that came on a CD-Rom in a
finance book. The only difference between this add-in and all my other
add-ins (they all work fine) is that it required me to download and
install
Microsoft .NET Framework 1.1. Could the runtime error be caused by
something
in the Microsoft.NET Framework?

I called the technical support group for the add-in. They insist that all
I
need to do is to log onto my computer as the administrator and run the
add-in
once and then all be fine. The problem is that it's my personal laptop and
I
am the only user set up to run on it so I don't think this can be the
problem.

I can add or delete any program. I can change the security settings, etc.
of
any other program but this one. So it seems to me that there must be
something hardwired into the coding that's causing the probem.

Thanks for your help!

P.S. - Is there a way to tell for sure whether I am logged in as the
administrator for running this add-in? I'm running Windows ME.

"Noel Paton" wrote:

Which Add-in are you using?? - does it require features not available in
either Win ME or in Office 2000?? (such as .NET).
Did you install the Add-in with your AV disabled (something to try,
anyhow).

I would suggest that you repost this question to the Office groups -
where
Excel specialist can assist.

--
Noel Paton (MS-MVP 2002-2006, Windows)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
http://www.crashfixpc.com/millsrpch.htm

http://tinyurl.com/6oztj

Please read http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm on how to post messages to NG's

"jb999" wrote in message
...
Hi,

I'm using Excel 2000 which is running on Windows ME. When I open the
menu
spreadsheet of a workbook with macros, I keep getting the following
error:

Run-Time Error .... The Program is not initialized. An administrator
must
initialize the program by starting it once.

I had no trouble installing the new Excel Add-In program. I am using a
personal laptop computer. I tried running the program in safe mode to
see
if
I could get around the error, but that didn't work.

I'm not sure what the error message means. Or how to correct it. I
would
appreciate any help! Thanks!






  #5  
Old November 8th 05, 08:46 AM
jb999
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Need Help Initializing Excel Spreadsheet Program

Hi Noel,

Thanks for your reply! Yes, I did tell them that I am using Win ME. In fact,
the add-in was developed for Win 2000/ME. It does not run on XP.

I'm almost certain that the problem has to do with the .NET Framework. I
have other add-ins and they all work fine. I installed another add-in from
the same CD-ROM and it worked fine. The only difference between all of these
other add-ins and the one that will not work is that this one requires the
use of .NET Framework.

I haven't updated the .NET Framework. I used the one they supplied with the
CD-Rom. The help desk for the software told me that I should use that one
since it was tthe one that the software was deployed with.

I appreciate all of your help! Thanks!

Regards,
Jon

"Noel Paton" wrote:

Win ME has NO Administrator/User mode - all users are admins.
Did you tell the support guys that you were using ME? - they may well have
assumed that you were on XP.
Have you updated the .NET framework since you installed it??

--
Noel Paton (MS-MVP 2002-2006, Windows)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
http://www.crashfixpc.com/millsrpch.htm

http://tinyurl.com/6oztj

Please read http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm on how to post messages to NG's

"jb999" wrote in message
...
Hi Noel,

Thanks for the reply.

The add-in is a specialized finance add-in that came on a CD-Rom in a
finance book. The only difference between this add-in and all my other
add-ins (they all work fine) is that it required me to download and
install
Microsoft .NET Framework 1.1. Could the runtime error be caused by
something
in the Microsoft.NET Framework?

I called the technical support group for the add-in. They insist that all
I
need to do is to log onto my computer as the administrator and run the
add-in
once and then all be fine. The problem is that it's my personal laptop and
I
am the only user set up to run on it so I don't think this can be the
problem.

I can add or delete any program. I can change the security settings, etc.
of
any other program but this one. So it seems to me that there must be
something hardwired into the coding that's causing the probem.

Thanks for your help!

P.S. - Is there a way to tell for sure whether I am logged in as the
administrator for running this add-in? I'm running Windows ME.

"Noel Paton" wrote:

Which Add-in are you using?? - does it require features not available in
either Win ME or in Office 2000?? (such as .NET).
Did you install the Add-in with your AV disabled (something to try,
anyhow).

I would suggest that you repost this question to the Office groups -
where
Excel specialist can assist.

--
Noel Paton (MS-MVP 2002-2006, Windows)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
http://www.crashfixpc.com/millsrpch.htm

http://tinyurl.com/6oztj

Please read http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm on how to post messages to NG's

"jb999" wrote in message
...
Hi,

I'm using Excel 2000 which is running on Windows ME. When I open the
menu
spreadsheet of a workbook with macros, I keep getting the following
error:

Run-Time Error .... The Program is not initialized. An administrator
must
initialize the program by starting it once.

I had no trouble installing the new Excel Add-In program. I am using a
personal laptop computer. I tried running the program in safe mode to
see
if
I could get around the error, but that didn't work.

I'm not sure what the error message means. Or how to correct it. I
would
appreciate any help! Thanks!






  #7  
Old November 11th 05, 05:05 AM
jb999
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Need Help Initializing Excel Spreadsheet Program

Hi Mike,

Thanks for your reply! Yes, there are two versions on the CD-ROM. I
installed the ones for Win ME. At this point, though, I've given up on the
one that won't work. Thanks for your help!

"Mike M" wrote:

Jon,

You do realise that Win 2000 is not Win Me? These are two very different
operating systems and apps written fir Win 2000 will not necessarily run
on Win Me.
--
Mike Maltby



jb999 wrote:

Hi Noel,

Thanks for your reply! Yes, I did tell them that I am using Win ME.
In fact, the add-in was developed for Win 2000/ME. It does not run
on XP.

I'm almost certain that the problem has to do with the .NET
Framework. I have other add-ins and they all work fine. I installed
another add-in from the same CD-ROM and it worked fine. The only
difference between all of these other add-ins and the one that will
not work is that this one requires the use of .NET Framework.

I haven't updated the .NET Framework. I used the one they supplied
with the CD-Rom. The help desk for the software told me that I should
use that one since it was tthe one that the software was deployed
with.

I appreciate all of your help! Thanks!



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reinstalling an application program problem. Billy E. Karlinsey Software & Applications 1 October 19th 04 04:54 PM
batch file via task manager is interfering with dos program jd Setup & Installation 0 October 11th 04 07:48 PM
add/remove program General 2 October 7th 04 01:56 PM
Uninstall a program that won't uninstall General 1 July 18th 04 11:22 PM
Moving program to another program gholt General 3 June 15th 04 03:24 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 Win98banter.
The comments are property of their posters.