A Windows 98 & ME forum. Win98banter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Win98banter forum » Windows ME » Software & Applications
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

System Restore no restore points?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 2nd 04, 10:10 AM
steve
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default System Restore no restore points?

I am having problems with System Restore.
When I try to create a restore point I get a message " System Restore is
unable to create a restore point. Please restart the computer and then run
System Restore again."
I have done this but makes no difference, I tried clearing all old restore
points since the latest restore point was back in May 04 and would have been
fairly useless, no help!!
I recently updated to Norton anti-virus 2004 as part of the installation
process Norton runs an on-line virus scan to check for problems before
completing the installation this scan revealed 59 virus infections in the
_restore directory how they got there is a worry as I am very diligent with
virus scans and always had had Norton running, the default settings in
Norton AV excludes the _restore directory from the full scan I don't know
why ???
Not sure whether this has caused the problem I have now or have some other
problem with System Restore any advice would be appreciated.

Steve


  #2  
Old September 2nd 04, 11:03 AM
Mike M
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Steve,

Running NAV as you do I am not surprised that you have problems especially
so as you are now using NAV2004, a seriously defective product that causes
no end of problems when installed on Win Me. Turning though to your more
immediate problem with system restore. The reason you have no recent
checkpoints is for the same reason as why you cannot create a manual
checkpoint and the most common reason for this is registry corruption,
often, but not exclusively, the result of running a system with defective
software from Symantec installed.

First, check that you don't have a wininit.ini file in your Windows
folder. If you do, rename this to wininit.old and retry System Restore. If
this works then you possibly have a program that creates a wininit.ini
file each time you boot your system. One known example is tgcmd.exe from
the late lamented @Home another is a program called "ACCESS DENIED". If
you have tgcmd.exe I understand that disabling it in MSConfig | Startup
will have no adverse effect on your system but enable you to use System
Restore. Likewise ACCESS DENIED needs to be "switched off" whilst using
SR to either create or restore to a previous checkpoint. McAfee's Spam
Killer also seems to create a new wininit.ini file each time the system is
booted. See also MS KB 274092 - "Error Message: System Restore Cannot Run
Until You Restart the Computer"
(http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=274092).

If this isn't the reason for your problem then try running
SCANREG /FIX
from a command prompt such as Start | Run. Note that the system will
re-boot so don't have any applications open when doing this. I suggest
this because the same message is also displayed when the registry has been
corrupted in some way. scanreg /fix attempts to repair that damage.

Hopefully one or the other will solve your problem and allow you to create
a manual check point.

Now try carrying out the following quick test:
a) Create a shortcut on your desktop to a file.
b) Create a manual checkpoint
Could you create a checkpoint?
c) Delete the shortcut
d) Restore your PC to the checkpoint you created.
Was the shortcut restored? Did you see any error messages?
e) Reboot your PC
Were the checkpoints retained?

Regards,
--
Mike Maltby MS-MVP



steve wrote:

I am having problems with System Restore.
When I try to create a restore point I get a message " System Restore
is unable to create a restore point. Please restart the computer and
then run System Restore again."
I have done this but makes no difference, I tried clearing all old
restore points since the latest restore point was back in May 04 and
would have been fairly useless, no help!!
I recently updated to Norton anti-virus 2004 as part of the
installation process Norton runs an on-line virus scan to check for
problems before completing the installation this scan revealed 59
virus infections in the _restore directory how they got there is a
worry as I am very diligent with virus scans and always had had
Norton running, the default settings in Norton AV excludes the
_restore directory from the full scan I don't know why ???
Not sure whether this has caused the problem I have now or have some
other problem with System Restore any advice would be appreciated.


  #3  
Old September 2nd 04, 02:09 PM
Tom
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I had the same problem and found that somehow system
restore was disabled in the system properties. I don't
know how this happened, but i have been running norton and
i have so many problems it is a nightmare. Anyway, to
check that your system restore is not disabled: Go to
control panel - system - performance - advanced settings -
file system- troubleshooting and look and see that the
restore is enabled. Also, you can increase the amount of
disk space that restore uses in the file system menu.

Now for my problem. I can create a restore point manually
now, but the next day it is not there? Also it doesn't
look like the computer is putting any there on it's own.
Can anyone offer any suggestions? Thanks, tom
  #4  
Old September 2nd 04, 02:26 PM
Mike M
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Two problems, not necessarily related. Remember that simply installing a
product carrying the name Norton is likely to have caused damage to your
system and could well be a factor in any problem you might be having with
system restore.

Loss of checkpoints:
This can happen for a number of reason, some known and some not with the
latter being perhaps related to the use of certain third party
applications. The more common reasons for loss of checkpoints are either
lack of free space on the drive containing the windows folder,
multi-booting and having a removable storage device that Win Me considers
mistakenly to be "fixed".

Lack of automatic system created checkpoints:
There can be many reasons for lack of regular automatic system created
checkpoints including running programs such as [email protected], [email protected] or
other similar programs, or because a background application is fooling Win
Me's state manager.exe into thinking that the system is not idle although
this is not in fact the case. Examples of the latter utility include v4
of MotherBoardMonitor (but not v5), Cacheman, The Cleaner (TCActive and
TCMonitor) and Norton's System Doctor where users have reported use of the
Disk Health sensor has prevented the creation of automatic checkpoints.
NAV7 has also been reported as causing similar problems in certain
circumstances. Other users have reported similar behaviour due to their
always on cable or ADSL connection continually polling their HD and thus
giving the impression that the system is never idle.

A significant number of users report that 3.x versions of Zone Alarm also
prevent the creation of automatic checkpoints but this didn't seem to
affect all ZA users including myself for a long time but my Win Me system
stopped making automatic checkpoints some time ago however now that it has
ZA Pro 5.1.011 this problem seems to have been resolved. Similar problems
have been experienced by BlackIce users and other software firewalls have
also been reported to cause some users similar problems.

One user has reported that B's CLIP UDF packet writing software
(http://www.bhacorp.com/products/clip/clip.html) prevented the creation of
automatic checkpoints and another that they had experienced the same
problem with Roxio's DirectCD. Another user has also reported that
CookieWall by AnalogX will prevent automatic checkpoints being made if its
"Scan for cookies every .... seconds" is set to a value less than 121
seconds (two minutes).
--?
Mike Maltby MS-MVP



Tom wrote:

I had the same problem and found that somehow system
restore was disabled in the system properties. I don't
know how this happened, but i have been running norton and
i have so many problems it is a nightmare. Anyway, to
check that your system restore is not disabled: Go to
control panel - system - performance - advanced settings -
file system- troubleshooting and look and see that the
restore is enabled. Also, you can increase the amount of
disk space that restore uses in the file system menu.

Now for my problem. I can create a restore point manually
now, but the next day it is not there? Also it doesn't
look like the computer is putting any there on it's own.
Can anyone offer any suggestions? Thanks, tom


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help! Display settings !! Mitzi Monitors & Displays 12 July 11th 04 05:19 AM
Cannot ENABLE System Restore. Help! aa General 0 July 3rd 04 04:05 PM
System restore points Ray New Users 3 June 23rd 04 12:23 AM
System Restore [email protected] New Users 0 June 19th 04 07:07 PM
Restore Points Answer MissNascar38 Software & Applications 1 May 16th 04 11:12 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 Win98banter.
The comments are property of their posters.