A Windows 98 & ME forum. Win98banter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Win98banter forum » Windows ME » Setup & Installation
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

reload of program



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 29th 04, 04:21 AM
airedale1
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default reload of program

I have now tried two different scenarios to now avail.
Computer crashed decided to reload windows me program.
After using utility disk to reformat, reinstalled program.
Get all the way to the end, "windows now detecting your
hardware" and system locks. Believing my disk may have
been damaged, borrowed someone elses to check. Same
result. How do you get a complete reinstall to work.
Since you already paid for the program once, you should
not have to buy it a second time. Tried yet another
option. Was going to install a new larger hard drive.
Same thing happened again. How do you overcome this??
  #2  
Old May 29th 04, 04:35 AM
Rick T
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default reload of program

airedale1 wrote:

I have now tried two different scenarios to now avail.
Computer crashed decided to reload windows me program.
After using utility disk to reformat, reinstalled program.
Get all the way to the end, "windows now detecting your
hardware" and system locks. Believing my disk may have
been damaged, borrowed someone elses to check. Same
result. How do you get a complete reinstall to work.
Since you already paid for the program once, you should
not have to buy it a second time. Tried yet another
option. Was going to install a new larger hard drive.
Same thing happened again. How do you overcome this??


Is that the part of the installation where it says "If Windows is
inactive for a long time just reboot" or something like that ?

Best bet would be to remove your Network card or at least disconnect
from the internet while installing.


Rick
  #3  
Old May 29th 04, 05:04 AM
airedale1
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default reload of program


-----Original Message-----
airedale1 wrote:

I have now tried two different scenarios to now avail.
Computer crashed decided to reload windows me program.
After using utility disk to reformat, reinstalled

program.
Get all the way to the end, "windows now detecting your
hardware" and system locks. Believing my disk may have
been damaged, borrowed someone elses to check. Same
result. How do you get a complete reinstall to work.
Since you already paid for the program once, you should
not have to buy it a second time. Tried yet another
option. Was going to install a new larger hard drive.
Same thing happened again. How do you overcome this??


Is that the part of the installation where it says "If

Windows is
inactive for a long time just reboot" or something like

that ?

Best bet would be to remove your Network card or at least

disconnect
from the internet while installing.


Rick


Yes that is the part where it tells you if it is inactive
for a long time to reboot. I not only took out the network
card but the modem, the sound card and everything back to
the bare bones to get it to reload the program and then
reinstall the cards one at a time so I would know which
one caused the problem if it had a problem. Same thing.
Any other suggestions?
.

  #4  
Old May 29th 04, 06:41 AM
Rick T
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default reload of program

A few...

You seem to be pretty handy with that stuff, why not look through your
BIOS for anything fishy... maybe reflash it, if you have the disk handy.

Reformat (again) the hard drive run an FDISK/MBR just incase a virus had
its way with your hard disk, and do a complete SCANDISK/SURFACE to
check, once it's reformatted... oh yeah and check through FDISK that you
don't have any strange partitions (no reason but you're there so why not).

Don't install from the CD, create a directory and copy the CD files
there; then install from there.

So why was the system crashing before you decided to do a fresh install ?

Last, but not least of course...

http://www.all-windows.com/winme.html




Rick


airedale1 wrote:

-----Original Message-----
airedale1 wrote:


I have now tried two different scenarios to now avail.
Computer crashed decided to reload windows me program.
After using utility disk to reformat, reinstalled


program.

Get all the way to the end, "windows now detecting your
hardware" and system locks. Believing my disk may have
been damaged, borrowed someone elses to check. Same
result. How do you get a complete reinstall to work.
Since you already paid for the program once, you should
not have to buy it a second time. Tried yet another
option. Was going to install a new larger hard drive.
Same thing happened again. How do you overcome this??


Is that the part of the installation where it says "If


Windows is

inactive for a long time just reboot" or something like


that ?

Best bet would be to remove your Network card or at least


disconnect
from the internet while installing.



Rick



Yes that is the part where it tells you if it is inactive
for a long time to reboot. I not only took out the network
card but the modem, the sound card and everything back to
the bare bones to get it to reload the program and then
reinstall the cards one at a time so I would know which
one caused the problem if it had a problem. Same thing.
Any other suggestions?

.

  #5  
Old May 29th 04, 09:21 AM
Noel Paton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default reload of program

,,,also - disable any BIOS anti-virus checking

--
Noel Paton (MS-MVP 2002-2004, Win9x)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
http://www.btinternet.com/~winnoel/millsrpch.htm

Please read http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm on how to post messages to NG's
or
http://www.microsoft.com/presspass/f.../Mar27pmvp.asp
"Rick T" wrote in message
...
A few...

You seem to be pretty handy with that stuff, why not look through your
BIOS for anything fishy... maybe reflash it, if you have the disk handy.

Reformat (again) the hard drive run an FDISK/MBR just incase a virus had
its way with your hard disk, and do a complete SCANDISK/SURFACE to
check, once it's reformatted... oh yeah and check through FDISK that you
don't have any strange partitions (no reason but you're there so why not).

Don't install from the CD, create a directory and copy the CD files
there; then install from there.

So why was the system crashing before you decided to do a fresh install ?

Last, but not least of course...

http://www.all-windows.com/winme.html




Rick


airedale1 wrote:

-----Original Message-----
airedale1 wrote:


I have now tried two different scenarios to now avail.
Computer crashed decided to reload windows me program.
After using utility disk to reformat, reinstalled


program.

Get all the way to the end, "windows now detecting your
hardware" and system locks. Believing my disk may have
been damaged, borrowed someone elses to check. Same
result. How do you get a complete reinstall to work.
Since you already paid for the program once, you should
not have to buy it a second time. Tried yet another
option. Was going to install a new larger hard drive.
Same thing happened again. How do you overcome this??

Is that the part of the installation where it says "If


Windows is

inactive for a long time just reboot" or something like


that ?

Best bet would be to remove your Network card or at least


disconnect
from the internet while installing.



Rick



Yes that is the part where it tells you if it is inactive
for a long time to reboot. I not only took out the network
card but the modem, the sound card and everything back to
the bare bones to get it to reload the program and then
reinstall the cards one at a time so I would know which
one caused the problem if it had a problem. Same thing.
Any other suggestions?

.



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Uninstall a program that won't uninstall General 1 July 18th 04 11:22 PM
remove program from start-up envequip General 2 June 29th 04 12:10 AM
Phantom program? Dacid Software & Applications 0 June 17th 04 03:37 AM
invalid page fault in kernel32.dll when starting program Will S. Software & Applications 4 June 10th 04 04:36 AM
Program uninstall doesn't work. Joe General 3 May 24th 04 11:14 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2019 Win98banter.
The comments are property of their posters.