A Windows 98 & ME forum. Win98banter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Win98banter forum » Windows ME » Setup & Installation
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

New PC, ME with old BIOS



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #81  
Old April 9th 08, 07:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.setup
William B. Lurie
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 60
Default New PC, ME with old BIOS

Mike M wrote:
You can only obtain updates from the Windows Update site using the PC to
be updated. For the last year or so you can only obtain updates for Win
9x systems from the Windows Update Catalogue site using a Win 9x system.
XP and later systems go to a more recent version of the Windows Update
Catalogue site that has no Win 9x content.

Okay, then I'll use the basic system until some time
when I might go online with it. The intended use which
triggered this exercise is in a self-contained application
package.
  #82  
Old April 9th 08, 07:09 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.setup
Mike M
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2,047
Default New PC, ME with old BIOS

William B. Lurie wrote:

Okay, then I'll use the basic system until some time
when I might go online with it. The intended use which
triggered this exercise is in a self-contained application
package.


What problems do you have when running the package in Win98/Me
compatibility mode on XP?
--
Mike Maltby



  #83  
Old April 9th 08, 08:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.setup
Mart
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,190
Default New PC, ME with old BIOS - Thread's too long!!

Sorry guys - looks like the sub-thread is too long, it won't let me add a
further reply to
your message Mike.

FWIW - I've started new sub thread which was only to say :-

example you are suddenly unable to access Help without encountering an
error post back and either Mart or myself will try and help you out.


Only as far as I am able Mike, don't forget I don't have VPC g

Mart


William B. Lurie wrote:

I guess my last question is, after installing Win98
in my VPC, and upgrading to Win ME with my upgrade
CD, are there any fixes or improvements for ME, or was
it just perfect when released?


290700 is essential for system restore to work and I would personally
advise you install all the critical patches that are available for Win Me
from the Windows Update site including IE 6 SP1 but whether you move from
WMP7 to WMP9 is very much up to you. If you have problems in installing
any of these patches or you find that installing one breaks things, for
example you are suddenly unable to access Help without encountering an
error post back and either Mart or myself will try and help you out.
--
Mike Maltby





"William B. Lurie" wrote in message
...
That's the best I can describe it.
I have a hard drive from my old PC
with ME on it. It won't boot in Normal
Mode in my new PC, I suspect because
it was mad with a different BIOS.

However, it boots just fine in Safe Mode.
Is there a way to get around this?
(I hope I made it clear enough).
Thanks.



  #84  
Old April 9th 08, 08:55 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.setup
Mike M
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2,047
Default New PC, ME with old BIOS

Test for Mart
--
Mike

Mike M wrote:

What problems do you have when running the package in Win98/Me
compatibility mode on XP?

  #85  
Old April 9th 08, 09:11 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.setup
Mike M
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2,047
Default New PC, ME with old BIOS

Mike M wrote:

Test for Mart


And another. In this case with a severely pruned References header which
should allow it to be posted whilst still being correctly threaded.
--
Mike



  #86  
Old April 9th 08, 09:32 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.setup
Mart
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,190
Default New PC, ME with old BIOS

Thanks Mike,

snip
Sorry guys - looks like the sub-thread is too long, it won't let me add a
further reply to
your message Mike.

FWIW - I've started new sub thread which was only to say :-

example you are suddenly unable to access Help without encountering an
error post back and either Mart or myself will try and help you out.


Only as far as I am able Mike, don't forget I don't have VPC g
/snip

OK, we can kill that 'new sub thread' and continue here - and BTW I do have
WinMe running on another machine and will continue to help Bill as far as I
am able.

Mart


"Mike M" wrote in message
...
Mike M wrote:

Test for Mart


And another. In this case with a severely pruned References header which
should allow it to be posted whilst still being correctly threaded.
--
Mike





  #87  
Old April 9th 08, 10:12 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.setup
William B. Lurie
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 60
Default New PC, ME with old BIOS

Mike M wrote:
William B. Lurie wrote:

Okay, then I'll use the basic system until some time
when I might go online with it. The intended use which
triggered this exercise is in a self-contained application
package.


What problems do you have when running the package in Win98/Me
compatibility mode on XP?

Mike, I don't understand your terminology. The term
'compatibility mode' is (surprisingly, I guess) new to me.

Up to 18 months ago I had a 2.1GHz PC in which I formatted
an HDD and installed Win98 and upgraded to Win ME. I believe
that it had 768MB Ram. PC died 18 months ago but I kept the
HDD which, as you know I can pull all the files off but cannot
make its OS operate. That's where I started bugging you most
valuable people.

My old Dos programs ran fine from command prompt on that Win ME.
I made graphs on screen, and captured them to IrfanView and file.
If I try to run the same programs by copying them over to
XP and running them from either Windows Explorer or CMD,
the programs run, but I have not found a way to get the graphs that
they produce onscreen, to print, or to a file, I can't Screen Capture
by 'normal' methods, or by any of half a dozen 'third party' capture
programs that I've tried.

This has been a long story, and maybe most of what I'm telling
you is extraneous.....but I'm trying to be complete.
  #88  
Old April 10th 08, 12:59 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.setup
Mart
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,190
Default New PC, ME with old BIOS

Bill asked :-

Mike, I don't understand your terminology. The term
'compatibility mode' is (surprisingly, I guess) new to me.


How to use Windows Program Compatibility mode in Windows XP
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/292533/en-us

How to use the Program Compatibility Wizard in Windows XP
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/301911/en-us

And, if you've got an hour or so to spare, you might find this WebCast
helpful and beneficial.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/330604/en-us

Good luck

Mart


"William B. Lurie" wrote in message
...
Mike M wrote:
William B. Lurie wrote:

Okay, then I'll use the basic system until some time
when I might go online with it. The intended use which
triggered this exercise is in a self-contained application
package.


What problems do you have when running the package in Win98/Me
compatibility mode on XP?

Mike, I don't understand your terminology. The term
'compatibility mode' is (surprisingly, I guess) new to me.

Up to 18 months ago I had a 2.1GHz PC in which I formatted
an HDD and installed Win98 and upgraded to Win ME. I believe
that it had 768MB Ram. PC died 18 months ago but I kept the
HDD which, as you know I can pull all the files off but cannot
make its OS operate. That's where I started bugging you most
valuable people.

My old Dos programs ran fine from command prompt on that Win ME.
I made graphs on screen, and captured them to IrfanView and file.
If I try to run the same programs by copying them over to
XP and running them from either Windows Explorer or CMD,
the programs run, but I have not found a way to get the graphs that
they produce onscreen, to print, or to a file, I can't Screen Capture
by 'normal' methods, or by any of half a dozen 'third party' capture
programs that I've tried.

This has been a long story, and maybe most of what I'm telling
you is extraneous.....but I'm trying to be complete.



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BIOS upgrades - reflashing the BIOS Bill in Co. General 21 March 25th 08 11:22 PM
BIOS Sean New Users 3 March 27th 05 07:30 PM
BIOS Sean Hardware 0 March 5th 05 08:27 AM
bios help elocm General 4 November 12th 04 10:26 PM
bios shep Setup & Installation 3 July 14th 04 09:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 Win98banter.
The comments are property of their posters.