A Windows 98 & ME forum. Win98banter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Win98banter forum » Windows 98 » Networking
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Network 98se to win2000



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old January 14th 10, 11:01 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.networking
mc
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 67
Default Network 98se to win2000


"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 03:18 PM, mc wrote:
"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 01:23 PM, mc wrote:
When I'm trying to log my win98 into a win2000 computer a logon window
pops
up that has one line that says
Resource \\Name\lPC andn then another line for the password.
My other computers only need to type the administrator name to log into
the
win2000 computer (No password needed).
How do I change the 'Resource' line(grayed out) on the win98 computer
or
how
do I get this pop up window to accept a password?
mc



So you got the other issues corrected then?
[reference: this group's query - WinFE]
What did you do to correct those issues?

I,m still working on the winFE problem with the out of range ip
addresses. I
may just upgrade to SE...


--
MEB


Before you do that, use Windows Update to update the WinFE computer
which you previously indicated was at base "re-installed" level [you
need at least IE5.1 installed to access the site, IE5.5 can reduce the
necessary downloads].
You can find IE5.5 (or others) on evolt:

http://browsers.evolt.org/?ie/win32

The links I provided previously in the other discussion and in this
discussion should help, AFTER updating, to resolve your issues.


Ok, I'll try the update first.....
mc
--
MEB
http://peoplescounsel.org/ref/windows-main.htm
Windows Info, Diagnostics, Security, Networking
http://peoplescounsel.org
The "real world" of Law, Justice, and Government
___---



  #12  
Old January 14th 10, 11:59 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.networking
Hot-text
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,026
Default Network 98se to win2000

Windows Update need at least IE6 to RUN Windows Update!


"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 03:18 PM, mc wrote:
"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 01:23 PM, mc wrote:
When I'm trying to log my win98 into a win2000 computer a logon window
pops
up that has one line that says
Resource \\Name\lPC andn then another line for the password.
My other computers only need to type the administrator name to log into
the
win2000 computer (No password needed).
How do I change the 'Resource' line(grayed out) on the win98 computer
or
how
do I get this pop up window to accept a password?
mc



So you got the other issues corrected then?
[reference: this group's query - WinFE]
What did you do to correct those issues?

I,m still working on the winFE problem with the out of range ip
addresses. I
may just upgrade to SE...


--
MEB


Before you do that, use Windows Update to update the WinFE computer
which you previously indicated was at base "re-installed" level [you
need at least IE5.1 installed to access the site, IE5.5 can reduce the
necessary downloads].
You can find IE5.5 (or others) on evolt:

http://browsers.evolt.org/?ie/win32

The links I provided previously in the other discussion and in this
discussion should help, AFTER updating, to resolve your issues.

--
MEB
http://peoplescounsel.org/ref/windows-main.htm
Windows Info, Diagnostics, Security, Networking
http://peoplescounsel.org
The "real world" of Law, Justice, and Government
___---


  #13  
Old January 14th 10, 11:59 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.networking
Hot-text
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,026
Default Network 98se to win2000

Windows Update need at least IE6 to RUN Windows Update!


"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 03:18 PM, mc wrote:
"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 01:23 PM, mc wrote:
When I'm trying to log my win98 into a win2000 computer a logon window
pops
up that has one line that says
Resource \\Name\lPC andn then another line for the password.
My other computers only need to type the administrator name to log into
the
win2000 computer (No password needed).
How do I change the 'Resource' line(grayed out) on the win98 computer
or
how
do I get this pop up window to accept a password?
mc



So you got the other issues corrected then?
[reference: this group's query - WinFE]
What did you do to correct those issues?

I,m still working on the winFE problem with the out of range ip
addresses. I
may just upgrade to SE...


--
MEB


Before you do that, use Windows Update to update the WinFE computer
which you previously indicated was at base "re-installed" level [you
need at least IE5.1 installed to access the site, IE5.5 can reduce the
necessary downloads].
You can find IE5.5 (or others) on evolt:

http://browsers.evolt.org/?ie/win32

The links I provided previously in the other discussion and in this
discussion should help, AFTER updating, to resolve your issues.

--
MEB
http://peoplescounsel.org/ref/windows-main.htm
Windows Info, Diagnostics, Security, Networking
http://peoplescounsel.org
The "real world" of Law, Justice, and Government
___---


  #14  
Old January 15th 10, 12:09 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.networking
Hot-text
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,026
Default Network 98se to win2000

If you do not have
http://www.hot-text.com/pub/web/ie6setup.exe
Need it first to be able to run Windows Update!

"mc" wrote in message
...

"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 03:18 PM, mc wrote:
"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 01:23 PM, mc wrote:
When I'm trying to log my win98 into a win2000 computer a logon window
pops
up that has one line that says
Resource \\Name\lPC andn then another line for the password.
My other computers only need to type the administrator name to log
into
the
win2000 computer (No password needed).
How do I change the 'Resource' line(grayed out) on the win98 computer
or
how
do I get this pop up window to accept a password?
mc



So you got the other issues corrected then?
[reference: this group's query - WinFE]
What did you do to correct those issues?
I,m still working on the winFE problem with the out of range ip
addresses. I
may just upgrade to SE...


--
MEB


Before you do that, use Windows Update to update the WinFE computer
which you previously indicated was at base "re-installed" level [you
need at least IE5.1 installed to access the site, IE5.5 can reduce the
necessary downloads].
You can find IE5.5 (or others) on evolt:

http://browsers.evolt.org/?ie/win32

The links I provided previously in the other discussion and in this
discussion should help, AFTER updating, to resolve your issues.


Ok, I'll try the update first.....
mc
--
MEB
http://peoplescounsel.org/ref/windows-main.htm
Windows Info, Diagnostics, Security, Networking
http://peoplescounsel.org
The "real world" of Law, Justice, and Government
___---



  #15  
Old January 15th 10, 12:09 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.networking
Hot-text
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,026
Default Network 98se to win2000

If you do not have
http://www.hot-text.com/pub/web/ie6setup.exe
Need it first to be able to run Windows Update!

"mc" wrote in message
...

"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 03:18 PM, mc wrote:
"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 01:23 PM, mc wrote:
When I'm trying to log my win98 into a win2000 computer a logon window
pops
up that has one line that says
Resource \\Name\lPC andn then another line for the password.
My other computers only need to type the administrator name to log
into
the
win2000 computer (No password needed).
How do I change the 'Resource' line(grayed out) on the win98 computer
or
how
do I get this pop up window to accept a password?
mc



So you got the other issues corrected then?
[reference: this group's query - WinFE]
What did you do to correct those issues?
I,m still working on the winFE problem with the out of range ip
addresses. I
may just upgrade to SE...


--
MEB


Before you do that, use Windows Update to update the WinFE computer
which you previously indicated was at base "re-installed" level [you
need at least IE5.1 installed to access the site, IE5.5 can reduce the
necessary downloads].
You can find IE5.5 (or others) on evolt:

http://browsers.evolt.org/?ie/win32

The links I provided previously in the other discussion and in this
discussion should help, AFTER updating, to resolve your issues.


Ok, I'll try the update first.....
mc
--
MEB
http://peoplescounsel.org/ref/windows-main.htm
Windows Info, Diagnostics, Security, Networking
http://peoplescounsel.org
The "real world" of Law, Justice, and Government
___---



  #16  
Old January 15th 10, 12:12 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.networking
MEB[_17_]
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,830
Default Network 98se to win2000

On 01/14/2010 05:59 PM, Hot-text wrote:
Windows Update need at least IE6 to RUN Windows Update!


No it doesn't [or didn't]. It is *recommended* to use IE6 [which was
not recommended for installation in Win98FE], as of my last test cycle
[about three months now] it still can be accessed with IE5.1 and
functions, though the FIRST update is/was to IE5.5 and its updates.


"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 03:18 PM, mc wrote:
"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 01:23 PM, mc wrote:
When I'm trying to log my win98 into a win2000 computer a logon window
pops
up that has one line that says
Resource \\Name\lPC andn then another line for the password.
My other computers only need to type the administrator name to log
into
the
win2000 computer (No password needed).
How do I change the 'Resource' line(grayed out) on the win98
computer or
how
do I get this pop up window to accept a password?
mc



So you got the other issues corrected then?
[reference: this group's query - WinFE]
What did you do to correct those issues?
I,m still working on the winFE problem with the out of range ip
addresses. I
may just upgrade to SE...


--
MEB


Before you do that, use Windows Update to update the WinFE computer
which you previously indicated was at base "re-installed" level [you
need at least IE5.1 installed to access the site, IE5.5 can reduce the
necessary downloads].
You can find IE5.5 (or others) on evolt:

http://browsers.evolt.org/?ie/win32

The links I provided previously in the other discussion and in this
discussion should help, AFTER updating, to resolve your issues.

--
MEB


--
MEB
http://peoplescounsel.org/ref/windows-main.htm
Windows Info, Diagnostics, Security, Networking
http://peoplescounsel.org
The "real world" of Law, Justice, and Government
___---
  #17  
Old January 15th 10, 12:12 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.networking
MEB[_17_]
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,830
Default Network 98se to win2000

On 01/14/2010 05:59 PM, Hot-text wrote:
Windows Update need at least IE6 to RUN Windows Update!


No it doesn't [or didn't]. It is *recommended* to use IE6 [which was
not recommended for installation in Win98FE], as of my last test cycle
[about three months now] it still can be accessed with IE5.1 and
functions, though the FIRST update is/was to IE5.5 and its updates.


"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 03:18 PM, mc wrote:
"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 01:23 PM, mc wrote:
When I'm trying to log my win98 into a win2000 computer a logon window
pops
up that has one line that says
Resource \\Name\lPC andn then another line for the password.
My other computers only need to type the administrator name to log
into
the
win2000 computer (No password needed).
How do I change the 'Resource' line(grayed out) on the win98
computer or
how
do I get this pop up window to accept a password?
mc



So you got the other issues corrected then?
[reference: this group's query - WinFE]
What did you do to correct those issues?
I,m still working on the winFE problem with the out of range ip
addresses. I
may just upgrade to SE...


--
MEB


Before you do that, use Windows Update to update the WinFE computer
which you previously indicated was at base "re-installed" level [you
need at least IE5.1 installed to access the site, IE5.5 can reduce the
necessary downloads].
You can find IE5.5 (or others) on evolt:

http://browsers.evolt.org/?ie/win32

The links I provided previously in the other discussion and in this
discussion should help, AFTER updating, to resolve your issues.

--
MEB


--
MEB
http://peoplescounsel.org/ref/windows-main.htm
Windows Info, Diagnostics, Security, Networking
http://peoplescounsel.org
The "real world" of Law, Justice, and Government
___---
  #18  
Old January 15th 10, 12:42 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.networking
Hot-text
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,026
Default Network 98se to win2000

My Win98 say it a Windows 95 too... But it not!

you say that you have IE5.5 but it not go to C:\Program Files\Internet
Explorer , Right Hand Click Iexplore.exe
Click on Version it will be 6.00.2800.1106 that is a IE6 SP1
just To see if I right .




"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 05:59 PM, Hot-text wrote:
Windows Update need at least IE6 to RUN Windows Update!


No it doesn't [or didn't]. It is *recommended* to use IE6 [which was
not recommended for installation in Win98FE], as of my last test cycle
[about three months now] it still can be accessed with IE5.1 and
functions, though the FIRST update is/was to IE5.5 and its updates.


"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 03:18 PM, mc wrote:
"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 01:23 PM, mc wrote:
When I'm trying to log my win98 into a win2000 computer a logon
window
pops
up that has one line that says
Resource \\Name\lPC andn then another line for the password.
My other computers only need to type the administrator name to log
into
the
win2000 computer (No password needed).
How do I change the 'Resource' line(grayed out) on the win98
computer or
how
do I get this pop up window to accept a password?
mc



So you got the other issues corrected then?
[reference: this group's query - WinFE]
What did you do to correct those issues?
I,m still working on the winFE problem with the out of range ip
addresses. I
may just upgrade to SE...


--
MEB

Before you do that, use Windows Update to update the WinFE computer
which you previously indicated was at base "re-installed" level [you
need at least IE5.1 installed to access the site, IE5.5 can reduce the
necessary downloads].
You can find IE5.5 (or others) on evolt:

http://browsers.evolt.org/?ie/win32

The links I provided previously in the other discussion and in this
discussion should help, AFTER updating, to resolve your issues.

--
MEB


--
MEB
http://peoplescounsel.org/ref/windows-main.htm
Windows Info, Diagnostics, Security, Networking
http://peoplescounsel.org
The "real world" of Law, Justice, and Government
___---


  #19  
Old January 15th 10, 12:42 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.networking
Hot-text
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,026
Default Network 98se to win2000


My Win98 say it a Windows 95 too... But it not!

you say that you have IE5.5 but it not go to C:\Program Files\Internet
Explorer , Right Hand Click Iexplore.exe
Click on Version it will be 6.00.2800.1106 that is a IE6 SP1
just To see if I right .




"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 05:59 PM, Hot-text wrote:
Windows Update need at least IE6 to RUN Windows Update!


No it doesn't [or didn't]. It is *recommended* to use IE6 [which was
not recommended for installation in Win98FE], as of my last test cycle
[about three months now] it still can be accessed with IE5.1 and
functions, though the FIRST update is/was to IE5.5 and its updates.


"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 03:18 PM, mc wrote:
"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 01:23 PM, mc wrote:
When I'm trying to log my win98 into a win2000 computer a logon
window
pops
up that has one line that says
Resource \\Name\lPC andn then another line for the password.
My other computers only need to type the administrator name to log
into
the
win2000 computer (No password needed).
How do I change the 'Resource' line(grayed out) on the win98
computer or
how
do I get this pop up window to accept a password?
mc



So you got the other issues corrected then?
[reference: this group's query - WinFE]
What did you do to correct those issues?
I,m still working on the winFE problem with the out of range ip
addresses. I
may just upgrade to SE...


--
MEB

Before you do that, use Windows Update to update the WinFE computer
which you previously indicated was at base "re-installed" level [you
need at least IE5.1 installed to access the site, IE5.5 can reduce the
necessary downloads].
You can find IE5.5 (or others) on evolt:

http://browsers.evolt.org/?ie/win32

The links I provided previously in the other discussion and in this
discussion should help, AFTER updating, to resolve your issues.

--
MEB


--
MEB
http://peoplescounsel.org/ref/windows-main.htm
Windows Info, Diagnostics, Security, Networking
http://peoplescounsel.org
The "real world" of Law, Justice, and Government
___---


  #20  
Old January 15th 10, 01:00 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.networking
MEB[_17_]
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,830
Default Network 98se to win2000

On 01/14/2010 06:42 PM, Hot-text wrote:
My Win98 say it a Windows 95 too... But it not!


Huh, where does it say its Win95?


you say that you have IE5.5 but it not go to C:\Program Files\Internet
Explorer , Right Hand Click Iexplore.exe
Click on Version it will be 6.00.2800.1106 that is a IE6 SP1
just To see if I right .


Which one? In one installation the version IS IE6 since I used the
Security Updates CD during installation. in another its IE5.1 [manually
updated], in another its IE5.5 updated online... so YOURS may be IE6,
that does not mean it was required, just what you did.


"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 05:59 PM, Hot-text wrote:
Windows Update need at least IE6 to RUN Windows Update!


No it doesn't [or didn't]. It is *recommended* to use IE6 [which was
not recommended for installation in Win98FE], as of my last test cycle
[about three months now] it still can be accessed with IE5.1 and
functions, though the FIRST update is/was to IE5.5 and its updates.


"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 03:18 PM, mc wrote:
"MEB" wrote in message
...
On 01/14/2010 01:23 PM, mc wrote:
When I'm trying to log my win98 into a win2000 computer a logon
window
pops
up that has one line that says
Resource \\Name\lPC andn then another line for the password.
My other computers only need to type the administrator name to log
into
the
win2000 computer (No password needed).
How do I change the 'Resource' line(grayed out) on the win98
computer or
how
do I get this pop up window to accept a password?
mc



So you got the other issues corrected then?
[reference: this group's query - WinFE]
What did you do to correct those issues?
I,m still working on the winFE problem with the out of range ip
addresses. I
may just upgrade to SE...


--
MEB

Before you do that, use Windows Update to update the WinFE computer
which you previously indicated was at base "re-installed" level [you
need at least IE5.1 installed to access the site, IE5.5 can reduce the
necessary downloads].
You can find IE5.5 (or others) on evolt:

http://browsers.evolt.org/?ie/win32

The links I provided previously in the other discussion and in this
discussion should help, AFTER updating, to resolve your issues.

--
MEB


--
MEB
http://peoplescounsel.org/ref/windows-main.htm
Windows Info, Diagnostics, Security, Networking
http://peoplescounsel.org
The "real world" of Law, Justice, and Government
___---




--
MEB
http://peoplescounsel.org/ref/windows-main.htm
Windows Info, Diagnostics, Security, Networking
http://peoplescounsel.org
The "real world" of Law, Justice, and Government
___---
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
98se / xp network "Unable to browse the network" brad Networking 2 July 27th 05 08:59 PM
Win98 magically kicked off of Win2000 domain controlled network Kevin Jowell Networking 0 May 4th 05 05:32 PM
XP SP2 and 98SE Network sheppardwk Networking 12 February 24th 05 06:04 PM
98se and XP on same network Q General 1 January 17th 05 08:00 PM
Win2000 & 98SE Loading Problems eddykeen23 General 6 July 15th 04 04:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 Win98banter.
The comments are property of their posters.