A Windows 98 & ME forum. Win98banter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Win98banter forum » Windows 98 » General
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Norton Internet Security 2005 Error



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 13th 05, 12:55 AM
Larry
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Norton Internet Security 2005 Error

Recently, I ran a clean boot to enable my scandisk and disk defragmenter
operate w/o interference. However, after successfully completing those
tasks, when I try to run my Norton program, I get the error bos titled:
NMAIN. In the box it says there was an error with ASCOMPBR.DLL I don't
understand what that is. Did I do something wrong while running MSCONFIG?
Will somebody please help.


--
Thanks for taking the time.
  #2  
Old January 13th 05, 01:09 AM
Jeff Richards
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

As this is an error in a Symantec product, your best source for information
is the Symantec site, as they are aware of the problem.
http://www.symantec.com/techsupp/consumer.html
or
http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT...&svy= &csm=no
--
Jeff Richards
MS MVP (Windows - Shell/User)
"Larry" wrote in message
...
Recently, I ran a clean boot to enable my scandisk and disk defragmenter
operate w/o interference. However, after successfully completing those
tasks, when I try to run my Norton program, I get the error bos titled:
NMAIN. In the box it says there was an error with ASCOMPBR.DLL I don't
understand what that is. Did I do something wrong while running MSCONFIG?
Will somebody please help.


--
Thanks for taking the time.



  #3  
Old January 13th 05, 02:37 AM
Larry
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks Jeff for the link. It almost worked. I still think I messed up
running MSCONFIG. I had to run normal startup for it to work again. I was
also looking for a way for my computer to run faster. Norton 2005 I guess is
making it run a little slower.

"Jeff Richards" wrote:

As this is an error in a Symantec product, your best source for information
is the Symantec site, as they are aware of the problem.
http://www.symantec.com/techsupp/consumer.html
or
http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT...&svy= &csm=no
--
Jeff Richards
MS MVP (Windows - Shell/User)
"Larry" wrote in message
...
Recently, I ran a clean boot to enable my scandisk and disk defragmenter
operate w/o interference. However, after successfully completing those
tasks, when I try to run my Norton program, I get the error bos titled:
NMAIN. In the box it says there was an error with ASCOMPBR.DLL I don't
understand what that is. Did I do something wrong while running MSCONFIG?
Will somebody please help.


--
Thanks for taking the time.




  #4  
Old January 13th 05, 03:12 AM
Jeff Richards
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If you weren't starting in normal mode then any errors or messages you might
get should be ignored - I would not expect that Norton 2005 can properly
cope with anything other than a normal W98 startup.

If Norton 2005 is making it run only a little slower, then you a much better
off than most Norton 2005 users.

I wouldn't bother trying to enhance the performance while Norton 2005 is
still installed - you will be fighting it all the way.
--
Jeff Richards
MS MVP (Windows - Shell/User)
"Larry" wrote in message
...
Thanks Jeff for the link. It almost worked. I still think I messed up
running MSCONFIG. I had to run normal startup for it to work again. I
was
also looking for a way for my computer to run faster. Norton 2005 I guess
is
making it run a little slower.



  #5  
Old January 13th 05, 04:43 PM
AlmostBob
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Symantec will become Sirius Cybernetics Corporation thus: "It is very easy
to be blinded to the essential uselessness of them by the sense of
achievement you get from getting them to work at all. In other words --- and
this is the rock solid principle on which the whole of [its] Galaxy-wide
success is founded --- their fundamental design flaws are completely hidden
by their superficial design flaws."

--
Adaware http://www.lavasoft.de
spybot http://security.kolla.de
AVG free antivirus http://www.grisoft.com
Etrust/vet/CA 12 Month free trial (till Feb 2005)
http://www.my-etrust.com/microsoft/
Etrust/Vet/CA.online Antivirus scan
http://www3.ca.com/securityadvisor/virusinfo/scan.aspx
Panda online AntiVirus scan http://www.pandasoftware.com/ActiveScan/
Catalog of removal tools (1)
http://www.pandasoftware.com/download/utilities/
Catalog of removal tools (2)
http://www3.ca.com/securityadvisor/n...aspx?CID=40387
Blocking Unwanted Parasites with a Hosts file
http://mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm
links provided as a courtesy, read all instructions on the pages before use

Grateful thanks to the authors/webmasters
_


"Larry" wrote in message
...
Recently, I ran a clean boot to enable my scandisk and disk defragmenter
operate w/o interference. However, after successfully completing those
tasks, when I try to run my Norton program, I get the error bos titled:
NMAIN. In the box it says there was an error with ASCOMPBR.DLL I don't
understand what that is. Did I do something wrong while running MSCONFIG?
Will somebody please help.


--
Thanks for taking the time.



  #6  
Old January 13th 05, 05:20 PM
Dan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well, I can say that I know use Norton because Symantec bought out Roxio so I
was stuck with going with "GoBack" from Symantec and I bought this one
product which is very useful for restoring a PC. I have set the
configurations carefully to minimize intrusion on the part of the Norton
utility. However, GoBack wants to access the Internet each time I reboot and
this makes me wonder what Symantec's game is. I can deny this accessing the
Internet through Zone Alarm Pro. because I have it set to manual but it still
makes me even more suspicious of Norton products. Does anyone know why this
product would want to phone home? If I deny Goback access to the Internet
the product still works great and no other message is displayed.

"AlmostBob" wrote in message
...
: Symantec will become Sirius Cybernetics Corporation thus: "It is very easy
: to be blinded to the essential uselessness of them by the sense of
: achievement you get from getting them to work at all. In other words ---
and
: this is the rock solid principle on which the whole of [its] Galaxy-wide
: success is founded --- their fundamental design flaws are completely hidden
: by their superficial design flaws."
:
: --
: Adaware http://www.lavasoft.de
: spybot http://security.kolla.de
: AVG free antivirus http://www.grisoft.com
: Etrust/vet/CA 12 Month free trial (till Feb 2005)
: http://www.my-etrust.com/microsoft/
: Etrust/Vet/CA.online Antivirus scan
: http://www3.ca.com/securityadvisor/virusinfo/scan.aspx
: Panda online AntiVirus scan http://www.pandasoftware.com/ActiveScan/
: Catalog of removal tools (1)
: http://www.pandasoftware.com/download/utilities/
: Catalog of removal tools (2)
: http://www3.ca.com/securityadvisor/n...aspx?CID=40387
: Blocking Unwanted Parasites with a Hosts file
: http://mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm
: links provided as a courtesy, read all instructions on the pages before
use
:
: Grateful thanks to the authors/webmasters
: _
:
:
: "Larry" wrote in message
: ...
: Recently, I ran a clean boot to enable my scandisk and disk defragmenter
: operate w/o interference. However, after successfully completing those
: tasks, when I try to run my Norton program, I get the error bos titled:
: NMAIN. In the box it says there was an error with ASCOMPBR.DLL I don't
: understand what that is. Did I do something wrong while running
MSCONFIG?
: Will somebody please help.
:
:
: --
: Thanks for taking the time.
:
:


  #7  
Old January 13th 05, 05:46 PM
Gary S. Terhune
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It probably wants to check for Updates, Dan. No big deal. You can
probably find some setting in its Options to tell it not to do that.

Or you could lighten the load entirely and ban all things
Norton/Symantec from your system. That's what I do.

--
Gary S. Terhune
MS MVP Shell/User

"Dan" wrote in message
...
Well, I can say that I know use Norton because Symantec bought out

Roxio so I
was stuck with going with "GoBack" from Symantec and I bought this one
product which is very useful for restoring a PC. I have set the
configurations carefully to minimize intrusion on the part of the

Norton
utility. However, GoBack wants to access the Internet each time I

reboot and
this makes me wonder what Symantec's game is. I can deny this

accessing the
Internet through Zone Alarm Pro. because I have it set to manual but

it still
makes me even more suspicious of Norton products. Does anyone know

why this
product would want to phone home? If I deny Goback access to the

Internet
the product still works great and no other message is displayed.

"AlmostBob" wrote in message
...
: Symantec will become Sirius Cybernetics Corporation thus: "It is

very easy
: to be blinded to the essential uselessness of them by the sense of
: achievement you get from getting them to work at all. In other

words ---
and
: this is the rock solid principle on which the whole of [its]

Galaxy-wide
: success is founded --- their fundamental design flaws are completely

hidden
: by their superficial design flaws."
:
: --
: Adaware http://www.lavasoft.de
: spybot http://security.kolla.de
: AVG free antivirus http://www.grisoft.com
: Etrust/vet/CA 12 Month free trial (till Feb 2005)
: http://www.my-etrust.com/microsoft/
: Etrust/Vet/CA.online Antivirus scan
: http://www3.ca.com/securityadvisor/virusinfo/scan.aspx
: Panda online AntiVirus scan http://www.pandasoftware.com/ActiveScan/
: Catalog of removal tools (1)
: http://www.pandasoftware.com/download/utilities/
: Catalog of removal tools (2)
:

http://www3.ca.com/securityadvisor/n...aspx?CID=40387
: Blocking Unwanted Parasites with a Hosts file
: http://mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm
: links provided as a courtesy, read all instructions on the pages

before
use
:
: Grateful thanks to the authors/webmasters
: _
:
:
: "Larry" wrote in message
: ...
: Recently, I ran a clean boot to enable my scandisk and disk

defragmenter
: operate w/o interference. However, after successfully completing

those
: tasks, when I try to run my Norton program, I get the error bos

titled:
: NMAIN. In the box it says there was an error with ASCOMPBR.DLL I

don't
: understand what that is. Did I do something wrong while running
MSCONFIG?
: Will somebody please help.
:
:
: --
: Thanks for taking the time.
:
:



  #8  
Old January 13th 05, 06:14 PM
Dan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yeah, I will search the options and check with a Norton newsgroup or support
if necessary. Unfortunately my desire for GoBack supercedes my desire to rid
Norton completely from my system. sigh and the manufacturer used to be
Roxio but they sold it

"Gary S. Terhune" wrote in message
...
: It probably wants to check for Updates, Dan. No big deal. You can
: probably find some setting in its Options to tell it not to do that.
:
: Or you could lighten the load entirely and ban all things
: Norton/Symantec from your system. That's what I do.
:
: --
: Gary S. Terhune
: MS MVP Shell/User
:
: "Dan" wrote in message
: ...
: Well, I can say that I know use Norton because Symantec bought out
: Roxio so I
: was stuck with going with "GoBack" from Symantec and I bought this one
: product which is very useful for restoring a PC. I have set the
: configurations carefully to minimize intrusion on the part of the
: Norton
: utility. However, GoBack wants to access the Internet each time I
: reboot and
: this makes me wonder what Symantec's game is. I can deny this
: accessing the
: Internet through Zone Alarm Pro. because I have it set to manual but
: it still
: makes me even more suspicious of Norton products. Does anyone know
: why this
: product would want to phone home? If I deny Goback access to the
: Internet
: the product still works great and no other message is displayed.
:
: "AlmostBob" wrote in message
: ...
: : Symantec will become Sirius Cybernetics Corporation thus: "It is
: very easy
: : to be blinded to the essential uselessness of them by the sense of
: : achievement you get from getting them to work at all. In other
: words ---
: and
: : this is the rock solid principle on which the whole of [its]
: Galaxy-wide
: : success is founded --- their fundamental design flaws are completely
: hidden
: : by their superficial design flaws."
: :
: : --
: : Adaware http://www.lavasoft.de
: : spybot http://security.kolla.de
: : AVG free antivirus http://www.grisoft.com
: : Etrust/vet/CA 12 Month free trial (till Feb 2005)
: : http://www.my-etrust.com/microsoft/
: : Etrust/Vet/CA.online Antivirus scan
: : http://www3.ca.com/securityadvisor/virusinfo/scan.aspx
: : Panda online AntiVirus scan http://www.pandasoftware.com/ActiveScan/
: : Catalog of removal tools (1)
: : http://www.pandasoftware.com/download/utilities/
: : Catalog of removal tools (2)
: :
: http://www3.ca.com/securityadvisor/n...aspx?CID=40387
: : Blocking Unwanted Parasites with a Hosts file
: : http://mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm
: : links provided as a courtesy, read all instructions on the pages
: before
: use
: :
: : Grateful thanks to the authors/webmasters
: : _
: :
: :
: : "Larry" wrote in message
: : ...
: : Recently, I ran a clean boot to enable my scandisk and disk
: defragmenter
: : operate w/o interference. However, after successfully completing
: those
: : tasks, when I try to run my Norton program, I get the error bos
: titled:
: : NMAIN. In the box it says there was an error with ASCOMPBR.DLL I
: don't
: : understand what that is. Did I do something wrong while running
: MSCONFIG?
: : Will somebody please help.
: :
: :
: : --
: : Thanks for taking the time.
: :
: :
:
:
:


  #9  
Old January 14th 05, 07:12 PM
Dan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Norton support by phone is Terrible. I did talk to someone but they
connected me with the GoBack group and since I did not go to the trouble of
getting a priority id number via their web-site that I did not bother geting
then I was hung-up on three times by their system. Now why should someone
have to get a priority id number just to get support. That is plain stupid,
imo. Now I am mad and ready to write to the head of Symantec about how their
product is so intrusive, their support is so terrible and why their product
wants to connect to the Internet each time. BTW, I rolled back my system
after uninstalling drivers when that idea that Brian gave didn't completely
work and Goback performed well. Goback as a product works well but as a
company Symantec is crap, imo and most of Goback is still based upon the
technology developed by Roxio so I do not even consider it a "true" Symantec
product like Norton Systemworks.

"Dan" wrote in message
...
: Yeah, I will search the options and check with a Norton newsgroup or
support
: if necessary. Unfortunately my desire for GoBack supercedes my desire to
rid
: Norton completely from my system. sigh and the manufacturer used to be
: Roxio but they sold it
:
: "Gary S. Terhune" wrote in message
: ...
: : It probably wants to check for Updates, Dan. No big deal. You can
: : probably find some setting in its Options to tell it not to do that.
: :
: : Or you could lighten the load entirely and ban all things
: : Norton/Symantec from your system. That's what I do.
: :
: : --
: : Gary S. Terhune
: : MS MVP Shell/User
: :
: : "Dan" wrote in message
: : ...
: : Well, I can say that I know use Norton because Symantec bought out
: : Roxio so I
: : was stuck with going with "GoBack" from Symantec and I bought this one
: : product which is very useful for restoring a PC. I have set the
: : configurations carefully to minimize intrusion on the part of the
: : Norton
: : utility. However, GoBack wants to access the Internet each time I
: : reboot and
: : this makes me wonder what Symantec's game is. I can deny this
: : accessing the
: : Internet through Zone Alarm Pro. because I have it set to manual but
: : it still
: : makes me even more suspicious of Norton products. Does anyone know
: : why this
: : product would want to phone home? If I deny Goback access to the
: : Internet
: : the product still works great and no other message is displayed.
: :
: : "AlmostBob" wrote in message
: : ...
: : : Symantec will become Sirius Cybernetics Corporation thus: "It is
: : very easy
: : : to be blinded to the essential uselessness of them by the sense of
: : : achievement you get from getting them to work at all. In other
: : words ---
: : and
: : : this is the rock solid principle on which the whole of [its]
: : Galaxy-wide
: : : success is founded --- their fundamental design flaws are completely
: : hidden
: : : by their superficial design flaws."
: : :
: : : --
: : : Adaware http://www.lavasoft.de
: : : spybot http://security.kolla.de
: : : AVG free antivirus http://www.grisoft.com
: : : Etrust/vet/CA 12 Month free trial (till Feb 2005)
: : : http://www.my-etrust.com/microsoft/
: : : Etrust/Vet/CA.online Antivirus scan
: : : http://www3.ca.com/securityadvisor/virusinfo/scan.aspx
: : : Panda online AntiVirus scan http://www.pandasoftware.com/ActiveScan/
: : : Catalog of removal tools (1)
: : : http://www.pandasoftware.com/download/utilities/
: : : Catalog of removal tools (2)
: : :
: : http://www3.ca.com/securityadvisor/n...aspx?CID=40387
: : : Blocking Unwanted Parasites with a Hosts file
: : : http://mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm
: : : links provided as a courtesy, read all instructions on the pages
: : before
: : use
: : :
: : : Grateful thanks to the authors/webmasters
: : : _
: : :
: : :
: : : "Larry" wrote in message
: : : ...
: : : Recently, I ran a clean boot to enable my scandisk and disk
: : defragmenter
: : : operate w/o interference. However, after successfully completing
: : those
: : : tasks, when I try to run my Norton program, I get the error bos
: : titled:
: : : NMAIN. In the box it says there was an error with ASCOMPBR.DLL I
: : don't
: : : understand what that is. Did I do something wrong while running
: : MSCONFIG?
: : : Will somebody please help.
: : :
: : :
: : : --
: : : Thanks for taking the time.
: : :
: : :
: :
: :
: :
:
:


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
YBrowser Error message while starting SBC Yahoo Internet connectio Tod General 1 October 26th 04 03:53 AM
Need Internet Security Zone Help bettyboop General 0 October 21st 04 08:13 PM
error loading explorer.exe. SHLWAPI.dll Gary General 4 October 20th 04 04:08 AM
Invalid page faults in module KERNEL32.dll while downloading from internet david Internet 1 July 28th 04 01:29 PM
Internet explorer error in ME ead New Users 1 June 12th 04 04:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 Win98banter.
The comments are property of their posters.