A Windows 98 & ME forum. Win98banter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Win98banter forum » Windows ME » General
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

networking ME to win 7 via router



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old February 6th 10, 08:44 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Noel Paton[_3_]
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 229
Default networking ME to win 7 via router


"Mike M" wrote in message
...
Noel Paton wrote:

You need to set up the Win7 machine user with a password - then you
can use that username and password to log in from the ME machine.
Alternatively, you can go into the Network & Sharing page in Win 7,
and switch off password-protected sharing.

HTH - post back if you need blow-by-blow instructions


Noel,

Can a Win Me PC access a network share on a PC running Win 7? Win 7 can
easily access shares on a Win Me machine but the reverse is more
difficult.
--
Mike

AFAIK, there shouldn't be any problem with the Win 7 machine getting into
the the ME machine - but as you say, getting the ME machine into Win 7 may
be more problematic.
Unfortunately, I no longer have a hardware 9x machine to play with (and VM's
don't count), but I'm sure I could share between Vista and ME back during
the Beta. Things may have changed for Win 7.....
Struggling in my archive to find any references for WIn98/W7 networking. -
nope, nothing
I may set up a couple of machines to play with - just for the giggles - but
it'd take a few days.

--
Noel Paton
CrashFixPC

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.co.uk

  #12  
Old February 6th 10, 01:00 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Joan Archer[_4_]
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 81
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

Is this any use to you ?

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...ons-of-Windows

--
Joan Archer
http://www.freewebs.com/crossstitcher

"Rockytsquirrel" wrote in message
...
Greetings,
Got a win 7 machine last month and was hoping to network it with the
older ME machines (2 in current network).
However each attempt the win 7 machine asks for passwords and such
which the networked ME machines
never used..
I'm not big on networks, any suggestions would be appreciated..

RTS


  #13  
Old February 6th 10, 01:43 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Mike M
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2,047
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

Hi,

Not even the router? If so it would appear your Win 7 system isn't as yet
correctly configured for networking. You mentioned having a box running
Vista. The Win 7 machine should be able to see the Vista machine even if it
cannot access files on Vista due to Vista having no visible shares. Have
you tried running the networking wizard (Set up a new connection or network)
from Win 7's Network & Sharing Centre?

Are you perhaps running a third party fire wall? If so the useful link
posted by Joan in this thread tells you which ports you need to open.
--
Mike Maltby



Rockytsquirrel wrote:

Greetings Mike,

the win 7 "see full map" windows says "windows cannot discover any
computer or device."


  #14  
Old February 6th 10, 09:15 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Rockytsquirrel
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 25
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

Greetings Noel,
I just got back from a bookstore with a purchase I hope will help clear up
some of my dummieness..

"Windows 7 for Dummies"

It seems to have a pretty good section on networking..
Give me a day of two to read it through and I'll see how it does then..
;-)

Just a glance I think I got several thing I need to check on, my D-Link
DI-604 router for one, check the ports to see if there open for cross
linking..
I now suspect the Vista machine has networks disabled, the possible
firewall problem of NORTONS which is running on the win 7 machine..

tks for all the feedback

RTS

(we'll get this pig whipped yet) LOL


"Noel Paton" wrote in message
...

"Mike M" wrote in message
...
Noel Paton wrote:

You need to set up the Win7 machine user with a password - then you
can use that username and password to log in from the ME machine.
Alternatively, you can go into the Network & Sharing page in Win 7,
and switch off password-protected sharing.

HTH - post back if you need blow-by-blow instructions


Noel,

Can a Win Me PC access a network share on a PC running Win 7? Win 7 can
easily access shares on a Win Me machine but the reverse is more
difficult.
--
Mike

AFAIK, there shouldn't be any problem with the Win 7 machine getting into
the the ME machine - but as you say, getting the ME machine into Win 7 may
be more problematic.
Unfortunately, I no longer have a hardware 9x machine to play with (and
VM's don't count), but I'm sure I could share between Vista and ME back
during the Beta. Things may have changed for Win 7.....
Struggling in my archive to find any references for WIn98/W7 networking. -
nope, nothing
I may set up a couple of machines to play with - just for the giggles -
but it'd take a few days.

--
Noel Paton
CrashFixPC

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.co.uk


  #15  
Old February 6th 10, 09:18 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Rockytsquirrel
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 25
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

Tks Joan,
I'll add this link to my new computer help file..
As I was telling Noel, I just purchased the "Dummies" book and I hope
I'll find the over looked problem soon..
(the old brain doesn't work as fast as it use too..)

tks again,
RTS



"Joan Archer" wrote in message
...
Is this any use to you ?

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...ons-of-Windows

--
Joan Archer
http://www.freewebs.com/crossstitcher

"Rockytsquirrel" wrote in message
...
Greetings,
Got a win 7 machine last month and was hoping to network it with the
older ME machines (2 in current network).
However each attempt the win 7 machine asks for passwords and such
which the networked ME machines
never used..
I'm not big on networks, any suggestions would be appreciated..

RTS


  #16  
Old February 6th 10, 09:23 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Rockytsquirrel
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 25
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

Greetings Mike,
I just purchased the "Dummies" book of win 7, so given enough time, I
hope I'll stumble upon the part I've been missing so far..

As I was telling Noel, I already have several items I need to check on,
the router, the vista machine, and for sure the win 7, plus I did find
out this machine is using NORTONS which has disabled the win 7 firewall in
favor of its own.. So that might be part of the problem..

Hopefully I'll be able to remember all the problems I find and pass them
along to everybody..

Tks for all the feedback

RTS


"Mike M" wrote in message
...
Hi,

Not even the router? If so it would appear your Win 7 system isn't as yet
correctly configured for networking. You mentioned having a box running
Vista. The Win 7 machine should be able to see the Vista machine even if
it cannot access files on Vista due to Vista having no visible shares.
Have you tried running the networking wizard (Set up a new connection or
network) from Win 7's Network & Sharing Centre?

Are you perhaps running a third party fire wall? If so the useful link
posted by Joan in this thread tells you which ports you need to open.
--
Mike Maltby



Rockytsquirrel wrote:

Greetings Mike,

the win 7 "see full map" windows says "windows cannot discover any
computer or device."


  #17  
Old February 6th 10, 11:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Noel Paton[_3_]
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 229
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

Norton (assuming its the Internet Security version) would certainly be the
first thing to get rid of!
try switching off the firewall part of it first - you're behind a router, so
that can act as the firewall for the network for the (limited) time you need
to test the effects.
If that works then you already know my opinions on the rest of the
bedspread suite - I've been ranting on about it for the past 9
years in these groups! g


--
Noel Paton
CrashFixPC

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.co.uk
"Rockytsquirrel" wrote in message
...
Greetings Noel,
I just got back from a bookstore with a purchase I hope will help clear up
some of my dummieness..

"Windows 7 for Dummies"

It seems to have a pretty good section on networking..
Give me a day of two to read it through and I'll see how it does then..
;-)

Just a glance I think I got several thing I need to check on, my
D-Link DI-604 router for one, check the ports to see if there open
for cross linking..
I now suspect the Vista machine has networks disabled, the possible
firewall problem of NORTONS which is running on the win 7 machine..

tks for all the feedback

RTS

(we'll get this pig whipped yet) LOL


"Noel Paton" wrote in message
...

"Mike M" wrote in message
...
Noel Paton wrote:

You need to set up the Win7 machine user with a password - then you
can use that username and password to log in from the ME machine.
Alternatively, you can go into the Network & Sharing page in Win 7,
and switch off password-protected sharing.

HTH - post back if you need blow-by-blow instructions

Noel,

Can a Win Me PC access a network share on a PC running Win 7? Win 7 can
easily access shares on a Win Me machine but the reverse is more
difficult.
--
Mike

AFAIK, there shouldn't be any problem with the Win 7 machine getting into
the the ME machine - but as you say, getting the ME machine into Win 7
may be more problematic.
Unfortunately, I no longer have a hardware 9x machine to play with (and
VM's don't count), but I'm sure I could share between Vista and ME back
during the Beta. Things may have changed for Win 7.....
Struggling in my archive to find any references for WIn98/W7
networking. - nope, nothing
I may set up a couple of machines to play with - just for the giggles -
but it'd take a few days.

--
Noel Paton
CrashFixPC

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.co.uk



  #18  
Old February 7th 10, 12:04 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Mike M
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2,047
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

The best thing you can do for yourself and your Win 7 PC is get rid of
Norton PDQ. The Win 7 firewall is more than sufficient, especially so if
you are sitting behind a router using NAT (Network Address Translation).
With Norton removed or at least Norton's firewall disabled the Win 7 machine
should be able to see the other PCs on your LAN and access shares on your
other PCs. Regrettably though this still won't allow your Win Me PCs to
access shares on the Win 7 machine.
--
Mike Maltby



Rockytsquirrel wrote:

Greetings Mike,
I just purchased the "Dummies" book of win 7, so given enough time,
I hope I'll stumble upon the part I've been missing so far..

As I was telling Noel, I already have several items I need to
check on, the router, the vista machine, and for sure the win 7, plus
I did find out this machine is using NORTONS which has
disabled the win 7 firewall in favor of its own.. So that might
be part of the problem..
Hopefully I'll be able to remember all the problems I find and
pass them along to everybody..

Tks for all the feedback


  #19  
Old February 7th 10, 12:37 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Rockytsquirrel
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 25
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

Greetings Mike,
Yep, first thing I found is NORTONS firewall has totally blocked all LAN
connections, NORTONS says there are 4 devices on the network but without
the IP address and connection machine name it will not open the path.. As
Noel suggested I'm looking for a way to shut down the firewall, but it
may take a while for me to get famililar enough with it to find the correct
settings.

Ever since Peter Norton sold his company its been in a downward spin...

I was hoping to keep things as they were on this new machine till I got a
better understanding of how it works but if this is any indication I may
not be able to wait. ;-)

Mike, as for the networking and file sharing, the ME's don't need to
access the win 7 machine, I was just wanting the win 7 machine to link
with the ME's so I could move all the txt files and html's, jpg. mov, and
the like to the newer system..

(the newer machine can burn DVD's ;-) which helps with backups)

tks again for all the feedback

RTS



"Mike M" wrote in message
...
The best thing you can do for yourself and your Win 7 PC is get rid of
Norton PDQ. The Win 7 firewall is more than sufficient, especially so if
you are sitting behind a router using NAT (Network Address Translation).
With Norton removed or at least Norton's firewall disabled the Win 7
machine should be able to see the other PCs on your LAN and access shares
on your other PCs. Regrettably though this still won't allow your Win Me
PCs to access shares on the Win 7 machine.
--
Mike Maltby



Rockytsquirrel wrote:

Greetings Mike,
I just purchased the "Dummies" book of win 7, so given enough time,
I hope I'll stumble upon the part I've been missing so far..

As I was telling Noel, I already have several items I need to
check on, the router, the vista machine, and for sure the win 7, plus
I did find out this machine is using NORTONS which has
disabled the win 7 firewall in favor of its own.. So that might
be part of the problem..
Hopefully I'll be able to remember all the problems I find and
pass them along to everybody..

Tks for all the feedback


  #20  
Old February 7th 10, 02:31 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Mike M
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2,047
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

Once you get rid of the Norton firewall and can "see" the other machines on
the network (the four devices probably being your router, Vista PC and 2x
Win Me PCs) you should have no problem with your Win 7 machine accessing
files on any Win Me shares, you should also be able to communicate both ways
between your Vista and Win 7 machines. Similarly if you were to have a
machine running XP you would also be able to establish two way
communication.

Nevertheless I would have thought that you should be able to configure
Norton's firewall to permit access. Surely there has to be a setting or
option on it that identifies blocked machines and allows you to permit
access?

And now to bed ...
--
Mike M


Rockytsquirrel wrote:

Greetings Mike,
Yep, first thing I found is NORTONS firewall has totally blocked
all LAN connections, NORTONS says there are 4 devices on the
network but without the IP address and connection machine name it
will not open the path.. As Noel suggested I'm looking for a way to
shut down the firewall, but it may take a while for me to get
famililar enough with it to find the correct settings.

Ever since Peter Norton sold his company its been in a downward
spin...
I was hoping to keep things as they were on this new machine till I
got a better understanding of how it works but if this is any
indication I may not be able to wait. ;-)

Mike, as for the networking and file sharing, the ME's don't need
to access the win 7 machine, I was just wanting the win 7 machine
to link with the ME's so I could move all the txt files and html's,
jpg. mov, and the like to the newer system..

(the newer machine can burn DVD's ;-) which helps with
backups)
tks again for all the feedback


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nat Router and 'normal' Router ?? Ian H General 18 March 16th 07 10:48 AM
DSL router [email protected] Networking 4 July 4th 06 11:48 PM
PLEASE HELP FOR ROUTER... Me Networking 4 June 24th 06 09:07 PM
Win ME Home Networking , ADSL, Wireless Router & Ethernet Port Issue Chandra Madhira Networking 3 September 29th 04 10:03 AM
networking via a router justdave Networking 2 July 28th 04 10:19 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 Win98banter.
The comments are property of their posters.