A Windows 98 & ME forum. Win98banter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Win98banter forum » Windows ME » General
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

networking ME to win 7 via router



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 4th 10, 03:11 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Rockytsquirrel
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 25
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

Greetings,
Got a win 7 machine last month and was hoping to network it with the older
ME machines (2 in current network).
However each attempt the win 7 machine asks for passwords and such
which the networked ME machines
never used..
I'm not big on networks, any suggestions would be appreciated..

RTS

  #2  
Old February 4th 10, 05:34 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Noel Paton[_3_]
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 229
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

You need to set up the Win7 machine user with a password - then you can use
that username and password to log in from the ME machine.
Alternatively, you can go into the Network & Sharing page in Win 7, and
switch off password-protected sharing.

HTH - post back if you need blow-by-blow instructions
--
Noel Paton
CrashFixPC

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.co.uk
"Rockytsquirrel" wrote in message
...
Greetings,
Got a win 7 machine last month and was hoping to network it with the
older ME machines (2 in current network).
However each attempt the win 7 machine asks for passwords and such
which the networked ME machines
never used..
I'm not big on networks, any suggestions would be appreciated..

RTS


  #3  
Old February 4th 10, 07:01 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Heather[_3_]
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 58
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

Hey Furball..........I managed to set up my wireless router all by myself at
Xmas so Elayne could use her laptop...........I think I deserve a medal at
the very least, LOL!!

I tried that Network Magic, but found that I did better with the DLink book
and my own ingenuity......so to speak!! I even managed to put a lock on it
cuz the neighbours were using my bandwith.......shame on them!!

XX Figgs

"Noel Paton" wrote in message
...
You need to set up the Win7 machine user with a password - then you can
use that username and password to log in from the ME machine.
Alternatively, you can go into the Network & Sharing page in Win 7, and
switch off password-protected sharing.

HTH - post back if you need blow-by-blow instructions
--
Noel Paton
CrashFixPC

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.co.uk
"Rockytsquirrel" wrote in message
...
Greetings,
Got a win 7 machine last month and was hoping to network it with the
older ME machines (2 in current network).
However each attempt the win 7 machine asks for passwords and such
which the networked ME machines
never used..
I'm not big on networks, any suggestions would be appreciated..

RTS




  #4  
Old February 4th 10, 08:11 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Rockytsquirrel
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 25
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

Tks Noel, I'll give it a try,

RTS

"Noel Paton" wrote in message
...
You need to set up the Win7 machine user with a password - then you can
use that username and password to log in from the ME machine.
Alternatively, you can go into the Network & Sharing page in Win 7, and
switch off password-protected sharing.

HTH - post back if you need blow-by-blow instructions
--
Noel Paton
CrashFixPC

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.co.uk
"Rockytsquirrel" wrote in message
...
Greetings,
Got a win 7 machine last month and was hoping to network it with the
older ME machines (2 in current network).
However each attempt the win 7 machine asks for passwords and such
which the networked ME machines
never used..
I'm not big on networks, any suggestions would be appreciated..

RTS


  #5  
Old February 5th 10, 09:45 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Mike M
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2,047
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

Noel Paton wrote:

You need to set up the Win7 machine user with a password - then you
can use that username and password to log in from the ME machine.
Alternatively, you can go into the Network & Sharing page in Win 7,
and switch off password-protected sharing.

HTH - post back if you need blow-by-blow instructions


Noel,

Can a Win Me PC access a network share on a PC running Win 7? Win 7 can
easily access shares on a Win Me machine but the reverse is more difficult.
--
Mike

  #6  
Old February 5th 10, 11:18 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Rockytsquirrel
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 25
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

Greetings,
Noel, no good with the networking, so far..
the ME's will see each other but neither will see the win 7, nor the win
7 see the ME's..
I've also added a vista to the mix but haven't had a chance to try it yet..
(side note, everybody can access the wan through the router, 2 ME's, 1
vista & 1 win 7)
Tks anyway..
RTS

"Mike M" wrote in message
...
Noel Paton wrote:

You need to set up the Win7 machine user with a password - then you
can use that username and password to log in from the ME machine.
Alternatively, you can go into the Network & Sharing page in Win 7,
and switch off password-protected sharing.

HTH - post back if you need blow-by-blow instructions


Noel,

Can a Win Me PC access a network share on a PC running Win 7? Win 7 can
easily access shares on a Win Me machine but the reverse is more
difficult.
--
Mike

  #7  
Old February 5th 10, 11:41 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Mike M
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2,047
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

Win 7 should be able to see and access Win Me systems with little problem.
Have you enabled network discovery in Win 7's Network & Sharing Centre
Advanced Sharing Settings?
--
Mike Maltby



Rockytsquirrel wrote:

Greetings,
Noel, no good with the networking, so far..
the ME's will see each other but neither will see the win 7, nor
the win 7 see the ME's..
I've also added a vista to the mix but haven't had a chance to try it
yet.. (side note, everybody can access the wan through the router, 2
ME's, 1 vista & 1 win 7)
Tks anyway..


  #8  
Old February 6th 10, 12:49 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Rockytsquirrel
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 25
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

Greetings Mike,
yes sir, did all the network turn-on I could find, did restarts of both
win 7 and router just in case they need a reboot to setup.
tried it with a password and then without.
neither would id any ME's in the win 7 network screens..

as I say earlier, I'm no network person but from the experiences I had
with the ME setup, something is missing with the cross platform
link.
the ME's will see each other but not the win 7,
and with the win 7 being newer you'd think it should see the ME's but
so far it hasn't..
least wise the way I'd doing it..

it's no big thing, but would have been nice if I could transfer files,
but I can live without it...

tks all
RTS

"Mike M" wrote in message
...
Win 7 should be able to see and access Win Me systems with little problem.
Have you enabled network discovery in Win 7's Network & Sharing Centre
Advanced Sharing Settings?
--
Mike Maltby



Rockytsquirrel wrote:

Greetings,
Noel, no good with the networking, so far..
the ME's will see each other but neither will see the win 7, nor
the win 7 see the ME's..
I've also added a vista to the mix but haven't had a chance to try it
yet.. (side note, everybody can access the wan through the router, 2
ME's, 1 vista & 1 win 7)
Tks anyway..


  #9  
Old February 6th 10, 01:28 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Mike M
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2,047
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

For now forget about accessing the Win Me PCs, can you "see" them from Win
7? That is, do they appear in the Network listing in Windows Explorer or in
the Network Map accessed by clicking "see full map" (top right) in the
Network & Sharing Centre? Note that your Win Me boxes won't show as being
connected to your router but instead should appear at the bottom left since
they don't run the necessary service to be placed in their correct position
on the map.
--
Mike Maltby



Rockytsquirrel wrote:

Greetings Mike,
yes sir, did all the network turn-on I could find, did restarts
of both win 7 and router just in case they need a reboot to setup.
tried it with a password and then without.
neither would id any ME's in the win 7 network screens..

as I say earlier, I'm no network person but from the experiences I had
with the ME setup, something is missing with the cross
platform link.
the ME's will see each other but not the win 7,
and with the win 7 being newer you'd think it should see the ME's
but so far it hasn't..
least wise the way I'd doing it..

it's no big thing, but would have been nice if I could transfer
files, but I can live without it...


  #10  
Old February 6th 10, 03:53 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.general
Rockytsquirrel
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 25
Default networking ME to win 7 via router

Greetings Mike,

the win 7 "see full map" windows says "windows cannot discover any
computer or device."

RTS

"Mike M" wrote in message
...
For now forget about accessing the Win Me PCs, can you "see" them from Win
7? That is, do they appear in the Network listing in Windows Explorer or
in the Network Map accessed by clicking "see full map" (top right) in the
Network & Sharing Centre? Note that your Win Me boxes won't show as being
connected to your router but instead should appear at the bottom left
since they don't run the necessary service to be placed in their correct
position on the map.
--
Mike Maltby



Rockytsquirrel wrote:

Greetings Mike,
yes sir, did all the network turn-on I could find, did restarts
of both win 7 and router just in case they need a reboot to setup.
tried it with a password and then without.
neither would id any ME's in the win 7 network screens..

as I say earlier, I'm no network person but from the experiences I
had with the ME setup, something is missing with the cross
platform link.
the ME's will see each other but not the win 7,
and with the win 7 being newer you'd think it should see the ME's
but so far it hasn't..
least wise the way I'd doing it..

it's no big thing, but would have been nice if I could transfer
files, but I can live without it...


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nat Router and 'normal' Router ?? Ian H General 18 March 16th 07 10:48 AM
DSL router [email protected] Networking 4 July 4th 06 11:48 PM
PLEASE HELP FOR ROUTER... Me Networking 4 June 24th 06 09:07 PM
Win ME Home Networking , ADSL, Wireless Router & Ethernet Port Issue Chandra Madhira Networking 3 September 29th 04 10:03 AM
networking via a router justdave Networking 2 July 28th 04 10:19 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 Win98banter.
The comments are property of their posters.