A Windows 98 & ME forum. Win98banter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Win98banter forum » Windows 98 » Improving Performance
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

CD-R erratically detected



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old October 17th 09, 05:49 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion,microsoft.public.win98.performance
dadiOH[_3_]
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 263
Default CD-R erratically detected

J. P. Gilliver (John) wrote:

The suggestion elsewhere in this thread about trying a different
brand of disc is also a good idea, especially if the issue is *only*
with burning discs, not reading them.


The first few we did were with cheap unlabelled ones, which were
mostly fine (we had a couple of part-burned ones, but that was I
think more a buffer problem - it is a BURN-proof drive, and the
software knows that, but still; and moving the "temporary files"
space for the .mp3-to-wav conversion to a different partition,
combined with reducing the burning speed, seemed to solve that).


A fail-safe method is to just decode the MP3s to wave yourself then burn the
waves. Many programs to do decoding/encoding, CDex is good, easy and free.
http://cdexos.sourceforge.net/


--

dadiOH
____________________________

dadiOH's dandies v3.06...
....a help file of info about MP3s, recording from
LP/cassette and tips & tricks on this and that.
Get it at http://mysite.verizon.net/xico



  #22  
Old October 17th 09, 09:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion,microsoft.public.win98.performance
glee
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2,458
Default CD-R erratically detected

"J. P. Gilliver (John)" wrote in message
...
snip
Initially I used Easy CD Creator - I know a lot of people don't think
much of it, but I was used to it, and it seemed to work fine. (I used
updates, which were necessary for it to recognise the new drive.)
After a complete system rebuild - I forget what prompted that, but it
was, I'm pretty sure, necessary (no point in discussing it, anyway -
'tis done) - I couldn't get ECDC to recognise the drive, whatever I
did, hence the installation of burn4free. Until the recent problems,
_that_ has been working fine too. I've downloaded burnaware_free,
deep_burner, and microburner, and will try one or all next time I
visit John; the trouble is, I don't know if they allow the temp. files
location to be specified as burn4free does, and there's not really
enough space on the C drive.


Which version of Microburner? I have versions 4.x and 5.x here.
Silentnight Microburner 5.x has a place in its "burner settings" to
choose the temp location. I don't see any way to do it with version
4.x, though.
--
Glen Ventura, MS MVP Oct. 2002 - Sept. 2009
A+
http://dts-l.net/

  #23  
Old October 17th 09, 09:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion,microsoft.public.win98.performance
glee
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2,458
Default CD-R erratically detected

"J. P. Gilliver (John)" wrote in message
...
snip
Initially I used Easy CD Creator - I know a lot of people don't think
much of it, but I was used to it, and it seemed to work fine. (I used
updates, which were necessary for it to recognise the new drive.)
After a complete system rebuild - I forget what prompted that, but it
was, I'm pretty sure, necessary (no point in discussing it, anyway -
'tis done) - I couldn't get ECDC to recognise the drive, whatever I
did, hence the installation of burn4free. Until the recent problems,
_that_ has been working fine too. I've downloaded burnaware_free,
deep_burner, and microburner, and will try one or all next time I
visit John; the trouble is, I don't know if they allow the temp. files
location to be specified as burn4free does, and there's not really
enough space on the C drive.


Which version of Microburner? I have versions 4.x and 5.x here.
Silentnight Microburner 5.x has a place in its "burner settings" to
choose the temp location. I don't see any way to do it with version
4.x, though.
--
Glen Ventura, MS MVP Oct. 2002 - Sept. 2009
A+
http://dts-l.net/

  #24  
Old October 17th 09, 11:53 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion,microsoft.public.win98.performance
J. P. Gilliver (John)
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,554
Default CD-R erratically detected

In message , dadiOH
writes:
J. P. Gilliver (John) wrote:

The suggestion elsewhere in this thread about trying a different
brand of disc is also a good idea, especially if the issue is *only*
with burning discs, not reading them.


The first few we did were with cheap unlabelled ones, which were
mostly fine (we had a couple of part-burned ones, but that was I
think more a buffer problem - it is a BURN-proof drive, and the
software knows that, but still; and moving the "temporary files"
space for the .mp3-to-wav conversion to a different partition,
combined with reducing the burning speed, seemed to solve that).


A fail-safe method is to just decode the MP3s to wave yourself then burn the
waves. Many programs to do decoding/encoding, CDex is good, easy and free.
http://cdexos.sourceforge.net/


GoldWave (with Lame) too. But (a) that part of Burn4Free seems to have
worked fine anyway, (b) I suspect it (burnfree) would still
intermittently fail to detect there was a blank in the drive, when we
tried to burn the .wavs.
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G.5AL-IS-P--Ch++(p)[email protected]+Sh0!:`)DNAf
** http://www.soft255.demon.co.uk/G6JPG-PC/JPGminPC.htm for ludicrously
outdated thoughts on PCs. **

At least with a British car, you know that everything that falls off it is a
product of true British workmanship. (Lord somethingorother on Robin Day's
programme, 1980-1-15.)
  #25  
Old October 17th 09, 11:53 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion,microsoft.public.win98.performance
J. P. Gilliver (John)
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,554
Default CD-R erratically detected

In message , dadiOH
writes:
J. P. Gilliver (John) wrote:

The suggestion elsewhere in this thread about trying a different
brand of disc is also a good idea, especially if the issue is *only*
with burning discs, not reading them.


The first few we did were with cheap unlabelled ones, which were
mostly fine (we had a couple of part-burned ones, but that was I
think more a buffer problem - it is a BURN-proof drive, and the
software knows that, but still; and moving the "temporary files"
space for the .mp3-to-wav conversion to a different partition,
combined with reducing the burning speed, seemed to solve that).


A fail-safe method is to just decode the MP3s to wave yourself then burn the
waves. Many programs to do decoding/encoding, CDex is good, easy and free.
http://cdexos.sourceforge.net/


GoldWave (with Lame) too. But (a) that part of Burn4Free seems to have
worked fine anyway, (b) I suspect it (burnfree) would still
intermittently fail to detect there was a blank in the drive, when we
tried to burn the .wavs.
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G.5AL-IS-P--Ch++(p)[email protected]+Sh0!:`)DNAf
** http://www.soft255.demon.co.uk/G6JPG-PC/JPGminPC.htm for ludicrously
outdated thoughts on PCs. **

At least with a British car, you know that everything that falls off it is a
product of true British workmanship. (Lord somethingorother on Robin Day's
programme, 1980-1-15.)
  #26  
Old October 18th 09, 12:00 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion,microsoft.public.win98.performance
J. P. Gilliver (John)
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,554
Default CD-R erratically detected

In message , glee
writes:
"J. P. Gilliver (John)" wrote in message
...

[]
visit John; the trouble is, I don't know if they allow the temp. files
location to be specified as burn4free does, and there's not really
enough space on the C drive.


Which version of Microburner? I have versions 4.x and 5.x here.
Silentnight Microburner 5.x has a place in its "burner settings" to
choose the temp location. I don't see any way to do it with version
4.x, though.


5.0. Under burner settings, I see something called "Temporary ISO folder
placement" under "Direct Copy/Clone Settings", which I presume is
something to do with copying one CD to another. I have wondered whether
it also uses the folder specified for temporary .wav files, but have yet
to find out; if you know that it does, I'll be pleased to try - it looks
a nice piece of software. (And the speech is fun.)
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G.5AL-IS-P--Ch++(p)[email protected]+Sh0!:`)DNAf
** http://www.soft255.demon.co.uk/G6JPG-PC/JPGminPC.htm for ludicrously
outdated thoughts on PCs. **

At least with a British car, you know that everything that falls off it is a
product of true British workmanship. (Lord somethingorother on Robin Day's
programme, 1980-1-15.)
  #27  
Old October 18th 09, 12:00 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion,microsoft.public.win98.performance
J. P. Gilliver (John)
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,554
Default CD-R erratically detected

In message , glee
writes:
"J. P. Gilliver (John)" wrote in message
...

[]
visit John; the trouble is, I don't know if they allow the temp. files
location to be specified as burn4free does, and there's not really
enough space on the C drive.


Which version of Microburner? I have versions 4.x and 5.x here.
Silentnight Microburner 5.x has a place in its "burner settings" to
choose the temp location. I don't see any way to do it with version
4.x, though.


5.0. Under burner settings, I see something called "Temporary ISO folder
placement" under "Direct Copy/Clone Settings", which I presume is
something to do with copying one CD to another. I have wondered whether
it also uses the folder specified for temporary .wav files, but have yet
to find out; if you know that it does, I'll be pleased to try - it looks
a nice piece of software. (And the speech is fun.)
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G.5AL-IS-P--Ch++(p)[email protected]+Sh0!:`)DNAf
** http://www.soft255.demon.co.uk/G6JPG-PC/JPGminPC.htm for ludicrously
outdated thoughts on PCs. **

At least with a British car, you know that everything that falls off it is a
product of true British workmanship. (Lord somethingorother on Robin Day's
programme, 1980-1-15.)
  #28  
Old October 18th 09, 12:35 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion,microsoft.public.win98.performance
glee
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2,458
Default CD-R erratically detected

"J. P. Gilliver (John)" wrote in message
...
In message , glee
writes:
"J. P. Gilliver (John)" wrote in message
...

[]
visit John; the trouble is, I don't know if they allow the temp.
files location to be specified as burn4free does, and there's not
really enough space on the C drive.


Which version of Microburner? I have versions 4.x and 5.x here.
Silentnight Microburner 5.x has a place in its "burner settings" to
choose the temp location. I don't see any way to do it with version
4.x, though.


5.0. Under burner settings, I see something called "Temporary ISO
folder placement" under "Direct Copy/Clone Settings", which I presume
is something to do with copying one CD to another. I have wondered
whether it also uses the folder specified for temporary .wav files,
but have yet to find out; if you know that it does, I'll be pleased to
try - it looks a nice piece of software. (And the speech is fun.)


I haven't used it for music ripping/conversion/etc., so I can't say if
that setting applies to it also. Why not try and find out? It can't
hurt (too much) eg
--
Glen Ventura, MS MVP Oct. 2002 - Sept. 2009
A+
http://dts-l.net/

  #29  
Old October 18th 09, 12:35 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion,microsoft.public.win98.performance
glee
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2,458
Default CD-R erratically detected

"J. P. Gilliver (John)" wrote in message
...
In message , glee
writes:
"J. P. Gilliver (John)" wrote in message
...

[]
visit John; the trouble is, I don't know if they allow the temp.
files location to be specified as burn4free does, and there's not
really enough space on the C drive.


Which version of Microburner? I have versions 4.x and 5.x here.
Silentnight Microburner 5.x has a place in its "burner settings" to
choose the temp location. I don't see any way to do it with version
4.x, though.


5.0. Under burner settings, I see something called "Temporary ISO
folder placement" under "Direct Copy/Clone Settings", which I presume
is something to do with copying one CD to another. I have wondered
whether it also uses the folder specified for temporary .wav files,
but have yet to find out; if you know that it does, I'll be pleased to
try - it looks a nice piece of software. (And the speech is fun.)


I haven't used it for music ripping/conversion/etc., so I can't say if
that setting applies to it also. Why not try and find out? It can't
hurt (too much) eg
--
Glen Ventura, MS MVP Oct. 2002 - Sept. 2009
A+
http://dts-l.net/

  #30  
Old October 18th 09, 02:35 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion,microsoft.public.win98.performance
J. P. Gilliver (John)
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,554
Default CD-R erratically detected

In message , glee
writes:
"J. P. Gilliver (John)" wrote in message
...
In message , glee
writes:
"J. P. Gilliver (John)" wrote in message
...

[]
visit John; the trouble is, I don't know if they allow the temp.
files location to be specified as burn4free does, and there's not
really enough space on the C drive.

Which version of Microburner? I have versions 4.x and 5.x here.
Silentnight Microburner 5.x has a place in its "burner settings" to
choose the temp location. I don't see any way to do it with version
4.x, though.


5.0. Under burner settings, I see something called "Temporary ISO
folder placement" under "Direct Copy/Clone Settings", which I presume
is something to do with copying one CD to another. I have wondered
whether it also uses the folder specified for temporary .wav files,
but have yet to find out; if you know that it does, I'll be pleased to
try - it looks a nice piece of software. (And the speech is fun.)


I haven't used it for music ripping/conversion/etc., so I can't say if
that setting applies to it also. Why not try and find out? It can't
hurt (too much) eg


I intend to!
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G.5AL-IS-P--Ch++(p)[email protected]+Sh0!:`)DNAf
** http://www.soft255.demon.co.uk/G6JPG-PC/JPGminPC.htm for ludicrously
outdated thoughts on PCs. **

At least with a British car, you know that everything that falls off it is a
product of true British workmanship. (Lord somethingorother on Robin Day's
programme, 1980-1-15.)
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB Modem not detected... Lori General 4 December 21st 07 06:07 AM
HDD install not detected Chuck Disk Drives 16 February 22nd 06 10:34 PM
usb printer not detected Jethro Printing 1 December 27th 04 12:46 AM
NO MOUSE DETECTED HARPO General 4 July 3rd 04 04:03 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 Win98banter.
The comments are property of their posters.