A Windows 98 & ME forum. Win98banter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Win98banter forum » Windows 98 » Monitors & Displays
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Can a graphics card with output to VGA monitor only output to TV?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 6th 06, 03:53 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.display.general,microsoft.public.win98.display.multi_monitor,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
Herbert Chan
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 97
Default Can a graphics card with output to VGA monitor only output to TV?

Hello,

I've bought a new TV and it can accept input from a computer. However, my
computer system is old and the Graphics card is Inno3d GeForce 2 MX AGP
"Value" and the card has only one output for VGA display.

Are there anything I can buy that I can output the display to a TV?

Thanks.

Herbert


  #2  
Old August 6th 06, 11:08 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.display.general,microsoft.public.win98.display.multi_monitor,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
Richard G. Harper
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 396
Default Can a graphics card with output to VGA monitor only output to TV?

Yes, there are a number of VGA to TV converters out there - but your TV will
only display 640x480 resolution and the picture will be horrible and nearly
unreadable.

--
Richard G. Harper [MVP Shell/User]
* PLEASE post all messages and replies in the newsgroups
* for the benefit of all. Private mail is usually not replied to.
* My website, such as it is ...
http://rgharper.mvps.org/
* HELP us help YOU ... http://www.dts-l.org/goodpost.htm


"Herbert Chan" wrote in message
...
Hello,

I've bought a new TV and it can accept input from a computer. However, my
computer system is old and the Graphics card is Inno3d GeForce 2 MX AGP
"Value" and the card has only one output for VGA display.

Are there anything I can buy that I can output the display to a TV?

Thanks.

Herbert




  #3  
Old August 6th 06, 11:27 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.display.general,microsoft.public.win98.display.multi_monitor,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
Jeff Richards
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,526
Default Can a graphics card with output to VGA monitor only output to TV?

Do you mean that the TV can accept VGA input? Then all you need is a
splitter.
http://mats-systems.com.au/cables.html (HD15F)
http://sewelldirect.com/vgamultiplier2port.asp
http://www.zantech.com.au/rextron/video-splitter.html

Otherwise,
http://sewelldirect.com/VGA/VGAtoTV
http://www.audiovisualdevices.com.au...oductid=XC4870
( http://www.grandtec.com/prod01.htm , http://www.grandtec.com/guide.htm )

You need to identify exactly what format the TV can accept.

Note that these sites are examples only - many other suppliers carry a
similar product range.
--
Jeff Richards
MS MVP (Windows - Shell/User)
"Herbert Chan" wrote in message
...
Hello,

I've bought a new TV and it can accept input from a computer. However, my
computer system is old and the Graphics card is Inno3d GeForce 2 MX AGP
"Value" and the card has only one output for VGA display.

Are there anything I can buy that I can output the display to a TV?

Thanks.

Herbert




  #4  
Old August 7th 06, 03:13 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.display.general,microsoft.public.win98.display.multi_monitor,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
Herbert Chan
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 97
Default Can a graphics card with output to VGA monitor only output to TV?

Hello,

My TV will accept normal PC to monitor connection. And my monitor
resolution is right now set to 1280x1024. I want to use the TV to watch
some of the widescreen movies on the harddisk.

Will a splitter be good enough to output the PC output to the TV with
quality good enough for viewing a movie?

Thanks.

Herbert


"Jeff Richards" 在郵件
中撰寫...
Do you mean that the TV can accept VGA input? Then all you need is a
splitter.
http://mats-systems.com.au/cables.html (HD15F)
http://sewelldirect.com/vgamultiplier2port.asp
http://www.zantech.com.au/rextron/video-splitter.html

Otherwise,
http://sewelldirect.com/VGA/VGAtoTV
http://www.audiovisualdevices.com.au...oductid=XC4870
( http://www.grandtec.com/prod01.htm , http://www.grandtec.com/guide.htm )

You need to identify exactly what format the TV can accept.

Note that these sites are examples only - many other suppliers carry a
similar product range.
--
Jeff Richards
MS MVP (Windows - Shell/User)
"Herbert Chan" wrote in message
...
Hello,

I've bought a new TV and it can accept input from a computer. However,

my
computer system is old and the Graphics card is Inno3d GeForce 2 MX AGP
"Value" and the card has only one output for VGA display.

Are there anything I can buy that I can output the display to a TV?

Thanks.

Herbert






  #5  
Old August 7th 06, 10:26 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.display.general,microsoft.public.win98.display.multi_monitor,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
Jeff Richards
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,526
Default Can a graphics card with output to VGA monitor only output to TV?

The splitter cable has almost nothing to do with the quality you will get.
As long as your cable lengths are short, the splitter cable will not add any
significant degradation. The more expensive powered splitter boxes are
specifically designed for distributing video signal to multiple monitors.

The quality you will get is dependant on what the TV can do. Have a look at
the instructions that came with the TV to see what they say about the
resolution you can expect.

What happens if you simply move the exiting cable from the monitor to the
TV?
--
Jeff Richards
MS MVP (Windows - Shell/User)
"Herbert Chan" wrote in message
...
Hello,

My TV will accept normal PC to monitor connection. And my monitor
resolution is right now set to 1280x1024. I want to use the TV to watch
some of the widescreen movies on the harddisk.

Will a splitter be good enough to output the PC output to the TV with
quality good enough for viewing a movie?

Thanks.

Herbert


"Jeff Richards" 在郵件
中撰寫...
Do you mean that the TV can accept VGA input? Then all you need is a
splitter.
http://mats-systems.com.au/cables.html (HD15F)
http://sewelldirect.com/vgamultiplier2port.asp
http://www.zantech.com.au/rextron/video-splitter.html

Otherwise,
http://sewelldirect.com/VGA/VGAtoTV
http://www.audiovisualdevices.com.au...oductid=XC4870
( http://www.grandtec.com/prod01.htm ,
http://www.grandtec.com/guide.htm )

You need to identify exactly what format the TV can accept.

Note that these sites are examples only - many other suppliers carry a
similar product range.
--
Jeff Richards
MS MVP (Windows - Shell/User)
"Herbert Chan" wrote in message
...
Hello,

I've bought a new TV and it can accept input from a computer. However,

my
computer system is old and the Graphics card is Inno3d GeForce 2 MX AGP
"Value" and the card has only one output for VGA display.

Are there anything I can buy that I can output the display to a TV?

Thanks.

Herbert








  #6  
Old August 7th 06, 10:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.display.general,microsoft.public.win98.display.multi_monitor,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
J. P. Gilliver
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 214
Default Can a graphics card with output to VGA monitor only output to TV?

"Herbert Chan" wrote in message
...
Hello,

My TV will accept normal PC to monitor connection. And my monitor
resolution is right now set to 1280x1024. I want to use the TV to watch
some of the widescreen movies on the harddisk.

Will a splitter be good enough to output the PC output to the TV with
quality good enough for viewing a movie?

[]
You need to look at the TV specs in the maual that came with it to see what
resolutions and refresh rates it will operate at. If you're luckiest, you've
bought a monitor that happens to have a TV tuner built in; more likely is as
others have said it's just capable of 480 pixels vertically (well, more like
500, or possibly even 600-odd if in PAL-land). [Out of interest, is it a
CRT, or an LCD or plasma?]

I presume it's a widescreen TV, since you say you want to watch widescreen
movies on it.

What resolution are these movies "on your hard disc"?

In the UK, if a set is badged "HD ready", it must be able to display at
least 720 (I think) pixels vertically; does it have any such logo? (Where
are you?) (Also, there are things like "HD compatible", which means I think
it can accept an HD signal, but display it at a lower resolution.)


  #7  
Old August 8th 06, 02:24 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.display.general,microsoft.public.win98.display.multi_monitor,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
Herbert Chan
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 97
Default Can a graphics card with output to VGA monitor only output to TV?

It's the High Definition widescreen LCD on this link:

http://www.consumer.philips.com/cons...ESHQNHKFSEKI5P

The cable I have right now is not long enough. I at least need to get a
longer cable first before I can test out the output.

I'm in Hong Kong.

"J. P. Gilliver" ...
"Herbert Chan" wrote in message
...
Hello,

My TV will accept normal PC to monitor connection. And my monitor
resolution is right now set to 1280x1024. I want to use the TV to watch
some of the widescreen movies on the harddisk.

Will a splitter be good enough to output the PC output to the TV with
quality good enough for viewing a movie?

[]
You need to look at the TV specs in the maual that came with it to see
what resolutions and refresh rates it will operate at. If you're luckiest,
you've bought a monitor that happens to have a TV tuner built in; more
likely is as others have said it's just capable of 480 pixels vertically
(well, more like 500, or possibly even 600-odd if in PAL-land). [Out of
interest, is it a CRT, or an LCD or plasma?]

I presume it's a widescreen TV, since you say you want to watch widescreen
movies on it.

What resolution are these movies "on your hard disc"?

In the UK, if a set is badged "HD ready", it must be able to display at
least 720 (I think) pixels vertically; does it have any such logo? (Where
are you?) (Also, there are things like "HD compatible", which means I
think it can accept an HD signal, but display it at a lower resolution.)



  #8  
Old August 8th 06, 10:15 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.display.general,microsoft.public.win98.display.multi_monitor,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
Ron Martell
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 240
Default Can a graphics card with output to VGA monitor only output to TV?

"Herbert Chan" wrote:

It's the High Definition widescreen LCD on this link:

http://www.consumer.philips.com/cons...ESHQNHKFSEKI5P

The cable I have right now is not long enough. I at least need to get a
longer cable first before I can test out the output.



According to the specs that TV has both VGA and DVI input ports, and
is capable of displaying 1024 x 768 or 1280 x 768 resolution.

It should work just fine as a monitor with either of those display
settings. Note that if you use 1024 x 768 output the display will be
stretched horizontally so that circles will appear as ovals etc.

I recently set up a computer to TV connection in a local Sears store
using a 42 inch LCD TV with similar inputs.

I used a 50 foot high quality male to male VGA cable to connect the TV
to a second video card in the PC on the sales floor and the image
quality is excellent - text is fully readable etc.


Using HD capable TVs is far different than using S-Video inputs on
conventional TV sets.

Good luck

Ron Martell Duncan B.C. Canada
--
Microsoft MVP (1997 - 2006)
On-Line Help Computer Service
http://onlinehelp.bc.ca

"Anyone who thinks that they are too small to make a difference
has never been in bed with a mosquito."
  #9  
Old August 9th 06, 08:06 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.display.general,microsoft.public.win98.display.multi_monitor,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
Ron Martell
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 240
Default Can a graphics card with output to VGA monitor only output to TV?

"Herbert Chan" wrote:

Hello,

My TV will accept normal PC to monitor connection. And my monitor
resolution is right now set to 1280x1024. I want to use the TV to watch
some of the widescreen movies on the harddisk.

Will a splitter be good enough to output the PC output to the TV with
quality good enough for viewing a movie?

Thanks.

Herbert


That resolution is too high for your TV to handle. You will have to
change the resolution to one that your TV can handle (1024 x 768 or
1280 x 768) in order to use it. Otherwise you will not be able to see
anything on the TV and you may even damage the TV with the
out-of-range signal data.

Ron Martell Duncan B.C. Canada
--
Microsoft MVP (1997 - 2006)
On-Line Help Computer Service
http://onlinehelp.bc.ca

"Anyone who thinks that they are too small to make a difference
has never been in bed with a mosquito."
  #10  
Old August 10th 06, 10:41 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.display.general,microsoft.public.win98.display.multi_monitor,microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
J. P. Gilliver
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 214
Default Can a graphics card with output to VGA monitor only output to TV?

"Herbert Chan" wrote in message
...
It's the High Definition widescreen LCD on this link:

http://www.consumer.philips.com/cons...ESHQNHKFSEKI5P

The cable I have right now is not long enough. I at least need to get a
longer cable first before I can test out the output.

I'm in Hong Kong.

[]
My TV will accept normal PC to monitor connection. And my monitor
resolution is right now set to 1280x1024. I want to use the TV to watch
some of the widescreen movies on the harddisk.

[]
The link shows that the TV's native resolution is 1366 x 768, so no, it
won't display 1280x1024. The web page also does show what computer
resolutions - and refresh frequencies! - it _will_ take:


Supported Display Resolution
Computer formats : 1024 x 768, 60Hz, 1280 x 768, 60Hz, 640 x 480, 60, 67,
72, 75Hz, 800 x 600, 56, 60, 72, 75Hz
Video Formats : 640 x 480i - 1Fh, 640 x 480p - 2Fh, 720 x 576i - 1Fh, 720 x
576p - 2Fh, 1280 x 720p - 3Fh, 1920 x 1080i - 2Fh

So, basically, you're stuck with the lower ones. 1280x768 is probably the
best bet, if your graphics card can do a widescreen one like that; older
cards might not.

It might not matter that much: it depends where you got the files "on the
hard disk". Unless they're from a source with resolution greater than 768
vertically, then you shouldn't lose anything; the only problem might be if
your video player software won't play them so they look "squashed" (tall and
thin) on your monitor, or the TV/monitor won't stretch such a display out.
(That's assuming you can't get the graphics card to do the widescreen
1280x768 mode; if you can, all is well.)

Looks like a nice set; enjoy!


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a graphics card with output to VGA monitor only output to TV? Herbert Chan General 9 August 10th 06 10:41 PM
Hardware Profiles for 2 graphics cards Wrong Attitude General 2 May 20th 06 12:03 PM
Cannot assign resources to ISA card (missing resources tab) Alex Wenzel General 5 July 7th 05 12:57 PM
Tweakbios Martin General 17 April 18th 05 10:29 PM
Compaq Deskpro graphics card Greg R General 14 April 3rd 05 06:48 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 Win98banter.
The comments are property of their posters.