A Windows 98 & ME forum. Win98banter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Win98banter forum » Windows 98 » General
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Accessing BIOS Setup on a Compaq Presario 1230 Laptop



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 31st 11, 02:43 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
[email protected]
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 126
Default Accessing BIOS Setup on a Compaq Presario 1230 Laptop

Hi,

I service TVs, etc. Once in a while, I service my own computers, one of
which is a Compaq Presario 1230 laptop with Windows 98se I bought second hand
a few years ago.

Recently, during power up, I saw "Error, O2BO: Diskette drive A error".
I removed the floppy drive, but I got the same error, which could be
it's controller?

I inserted a bootable CD rom hoping that the boot sequence might start at
the CD rom, but it didn't. It must be A: drive first. Note: The HDD is fine
because I removed it and checked it on anther PC.

If I can change the boot sequence, I can do without the floppy drive,
but to get into the settings by pressing F10, I have to enter a password.
I don't have the phone number of the person I bought it from who lives
out of town.

I removed the RTC/CMOS battery (soldered in) and waited 24 hours
hoping that it may "clear" the password requirement, but it did not.
Maybe I should wait longer?

Pressing F10 presents a screen that says, "Phoenix BIOS Setup Utility"
followed by a prompt for a password. I tried some by guessing, but it
didn't work. I hope the password isn't stored in the BIOS.

Do you know a technique to bypass the password requirement so
I can change the boot sequence?

Thank You in Advance, John

PS, Remove "ine" from my email address


  #2  
Old March 31st 11, 05:42 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
Tim Slattery
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 227
Default Accessing BIOS Setup on a Compaq Presario 1230 Laptop

wrote:

If I can change the boot sequence, I can do without the floppy drive,
but to get into the settings by pressing F10, I have to enter a password.
I don't have the phone number of the person I bought it from who lives
out of town.


I removed the RTC/CMOS battery (soldered in) and waited 24 hours
hoping that it may "clear" the password requirement, but it did not.
Maybe I should wait longer?


Maybe, but that seems like a long time to me. Generally there are a
couple of contacts somewhere on the motherboard that you need to short
to clear the password (and all other BIOS settings, I think). If you
could find documentation for the computer or motherboard, it would
show you where the contacts are. Compaq - er, I guess HP now - might
have it buried on their website someplace.

Pressing F10 presents a screen that says, "Phoenix BIOS Setup Utility"
followed by a prompt for a password. I tried some by guessing, but it
didn't work. I hope the password isn't stored in the BIOS.


It's stored in the Bios's CMOS memory, like all the other settings.

Do you know a technique to bypass the password requirement so
I can change the boot sequence?


Have you tried simply removing or unplugging the floppy drive?

--
Tim Slattery

http://members.cox.net/slatteryt
  #3  
Old March 31st 11, 11:29 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
thanatoid
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2,299
Default Accessing BIOS Setup on a Compaq Presario 1230 Laptop

wrote in
:

snip

Compaq Presario 1230 BIOS password


BION, I have received EXCELLENT responses from HP to any and all
of my inquiries/problems with /my/ Compaq (which is a desktop).

Start he
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/p...c=en&dlc=en&pr
oduct=94985

Also take alook he

http://www.eserviceinfo.com/download...q_Presario%201
200%20Series.html

The dl is free, but saves as an mp3 file. Change the extension
to rar and unrar it to get the PDF. I just did it, works fine,
no virus either.

You should be able to find the BIOS and how to blank it
somewhere. Or a friendly tech will.
  #4  
Old March 31st 11, 11:32 PM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
thanatoid
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2,299
Default Accessing BIOS Setup on a Compaq Presario 1230 Laptop

wrote in
:

Also, it remember that years ago sometimes the name of the
manuf. was a "secret" password for such situations - so you
could try HP, Compaq or Phoenix. Maybe the model number. You
never know.

  #5  
Old April 1st 11, 01:59 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
philo[_34_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 56
Default Accessing BIOS Setup on a Compaq Presario 1230 Laptop

On 03/31/2011 05:32 PM, thanatoid wrote:
wrote in
:

Also, it remember that years ago sometimes the name of the
manuf. was a "secret" password for such situations - so you
could try HP, Compaq or Phoenix. Maybe the model number. You
never know.




I found this


http://www.go4expert.com/forums/showthread.php?t=114
  #6  
Old April 2nd 11, 09:42 AM posted to microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion
J. P. Gilliver (John)
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1,554
Default Accessing BIOS Setup on a Compaq Presario 1230 Laptop

In message , philo
writes:
On 03/31/2011 05:32 PM, thanatoid wrote:
wrote in
:

Also, it remember that years ago sometimes the name of the
manuf. was a "secret" password for such situations - so you
could try HP, Compaq or Phoenix. Maybe the model number. You
never know.

(Also try a blank password, of course.)



I found this


http://www.go4expert.com/forums/showthread.php?t=114

Thanks for that - looks most useful. Bookmarked.

(Glad jaugust has got back in.)
--
J. P. Gilliver. UMRA: 1960/1985 MB++G.5AL-IS-P--Ch++(p)Ar@T0H+Sh0!:`)DNAf

Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
-Arthur C Clarke, science fiction writer (1917- )
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bios setup in Compaq Presario ms General 16 December 22nd 07 09:47 PM
Mystery Laptop Problem, Compaq Presario 1060 Brad Disk Drives 0 September 22nd 06 09:28 PM
Mystery Laptop Problem, Compaq Presario 1060 Brad Disk Drives 1 September 22nd 06 03:24 AM
Mystery Laptop Problem, Compaq Presario 1060 Brad Disk Drives 1 September 19th 06 07:45 PM
i have a compaq presario laptop Kokoro-zzz Setup & Installation 1 June 11th 05 04:46 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 Win98banter.
The comments are property of their posters.