A Windows 98 & ME forum. Win98banter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Win98banter forum » Windows ME » Monitors & Displays
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

background jpg & active desktop



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 15th 05, 11:15 AM
Sean
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default background jpg & active desktop

Is there a solution I can use to enable a jpg as a background with Active
Desktop?

Thanks
  #2  
Old September 15th 05, 11:19 AM
Sean
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

sorry that sb without enabling Active Desktop
  #3  
Old September 15th 05, 11:34 AM
Mike M
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes, convert to a bmp.
--
Mike Maltby



Sean wrote:

Is there a solution I can use to enable a jpg as a background with
Active Desktop?

Thanks

  #4  
Old September 15th 05, 03:58 PM
Sean
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What is the bet conversion without too much loss of quality?

and what about a gif?

Thanks, Mike for the quick reply.
  #5  
Old September 15th 05, 04:50 PM
Mike M
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sean wrote:

What is the bet conversion without too much loss of quality?


Whichever takes your fancy. You could even use MSPaint although then you
may well have problems if you need to resize the image or change its
colour depth. Personally I use Corel's PhotoPaint for most of my graphics
work.

Remember that quality loss is when converting from bmp (lossless) to jpg
(lossy) format rather than the reverse which is why bmp files are so much
larger than jpgs which are compressed files. Remember also to size the
bmp to your screen resolution as with Active Desktop disabled this is not
normally possible with bmps where the choice is centre or tile.
--
Mike Maltby



and what about a gif?

Thanks, Mike for the quick reply.


  #6  
Old September 9th 06, 03:10 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.display
me and games
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2
Default background jpg & active desktop



"Sean" wrote:

Is there a solution I can use to enable a jpg as a background with Active
Desktop?

Thanks

  #7  
Old September 9th 06, 03:10 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.display
me and games
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2
Default background jpg & active desktop



"Sean" wrote:

Is there a solution I can use to enable a jpg as a background with Active
Desktop?

Thanks

  #8  
Old March 29th 08, 07:25 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.display
edleday
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 1
Default background jpg & active desktop



"Sean" wrote:

Is there a solution I can use to enable a jpg as a background with Active
Desktop?

Thanks

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Active Desktop Sean General 6 March 9th 05 05:15 PM
Active Desktop destroyed Monitors & Displays 0 August 5th 04 10:09 PM
active desktop Richard Software & Applications 1 June 29th 04 01:05 AM
Swastikas appear on my desktop background screen Lowell Copeland Monitors & Displays 2 June 11th 04 03:05 AM
Can't upload image to wallpaper without enabling Active Desktop LB Monitors & Displays 6 May 30th 04 05:30 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 Win98banter.
The comments are property of their posters.