A Windows 98 & ME forum. Win98banter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Win98banter forum » Windows ME » Software & Applications
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

run scanreg /fix and cannot seem to boot into command prompt



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 5th 09, 01:23 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.software
Dell
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 6
Default run scanreg /fix and cannot seem to boot into command prompt

I need to run scanreg /fix and cannot seem to boot into command prompt to do
so. Can anyone help?

Windows crashed and is trying to search for new hardware with the "Add New
Hardware Wizard" due to a registry error whereas there is not enough room on
disk to load registry fully. What should I do?

Does anyone know what drivers I should direct the search to look for? I
would appreciate any help that I can get to resolve this issue. Thanks in
advance.
--
~Dell
-spam-please
  #2  
Old May 5th 09, 06:55 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.software
Noel Paton[_3_]
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 229
Default run scanreg /fix and cannot seem to boot into command prompt

Wish I'd read this one before the other!
who/what is saying there's not enough space to load the registry??
it's loaded to memory, not the HD, so it should load the same today as it
did yesterday.
see the link in my response to your other post (next time please only post
ONE thread at a time)

WRT the 'lack of space' - boot using a floppy drive, and delete the ENTIRE
contents of the 'c:\windows\temp folder', and the ENTIRE contents of the
'c:\Windows\Temporary Internet Files' folder.
NOTE - do NOT delete the folders themselves!
you can do this easily using the command
DEL C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\*,*
DEL "C:\WINDOWS \TEMPORARY INTERNET FILES\*.*" (note the quotes are
required here)
see how much space that gets you back.

Again - run scanreg /restore from an ME boot floppy (do NOT use a Win98 boot
floppy!)

--
Noel Paton
CrashFixPC

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.co.uk
"Dell" wrote in message
...
I need to run scanreg /fix and cannot seem to boot into command prompt to
do
so. Can anyone help?

Windows crashed and is trying to search for new hardware with the "Add New
Hardware Wizard" due to a registry error whereas there is not enough room
on
disk to load registry fully. What should I do?

Does anyone know what drivers I should direct the search to look for? I
would appreciate any help that I can get to resolve this issue. Thanks in
advance.
--
~Dell
-spam-please


  #3  
Old May 6th 09, 04:31 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.software
Dell
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 6
Default run scanreg /fix and cannot seem to boot into command prompt

Noel:
My apology for the dual thread.

Thanks for your prompt reply. I've followed your instructions to the letter
but now I am at the "A:\" dos prompt and once I enter "scanreg /restore" it
only says "Bad command or file name" I am not good with DOS Commands.

What am I doing wrong?
--
~Dell


"Noel Paton" wrote:

Wish I'd read this one before the other!
who/what is saying there's not enough space to load the registry??
it's loaded to memory, not the HD, so it should load the same today as it
did yesterday.
see the link in my response to your other post (next time please only post
ONE thread at a time)

WRT the 'lack of space' - boot using a floppy drive, and delete the ENTIRE
contents of the 'c:\windows\temp folder', and the ENTIRE contents of the
'c:\Windows\Temporary Internet Files' folder.
NOTE - do NOT delete the folders themselves!
you can do this easily using the command
DEL C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\*,*
DEL "C:\WINDOWS \TEMPORARY INTERNET FILES\*.*" (note the quotes are
required here)
see how much space that gets you back.

Again - run scanreg /restore from an ME boot floppy (do NOT use a Win98 boot
floppy!)

--
Noel Paton
CrashFixPC

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.co.uk
"Dell" wrote in message
...
I need to run scanreg /fix and cannot seem to boot into command prompt to
do
so. Can anyone help?

Windows crashed and is trying to search for new hardware with the "Add New
Hardware Wizard" due to a registry error whereas there is not enough room
on
disk to load registry fully. What should I do?

Does anyone know what drivers I should direct the search to look for? I
would appreciate any help that I can get to resolve this issue. Thanks in
advance.
--
~Dell
-spam-please



  #4  
Old May 6th 09, 07:21 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.software
Noel Paton[_3_]
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 229
Default run scanreg /fix and cannot seem to boot into command prompt

Yikes! It;s been so long since I worked in ME DOS that I've forgotten what
used to be automatic behavior!
At least you HAVE the disk - that's a good start.
When you booted it, you did see the Windows Millennium message? (just
checking)
usual reasons for this error message are

1) mis-spelling SCANREG
2) the wrong disk - or an OEM disk that's been *******ised.....
lemme see.....
if you type in VER at the a:\ prompt - you should get told that it's
Windows Millennium Edition
if you type DIR /O (that's Oh, not Zero) - you should get a list of files
that includes "scanreg.exe"
if your disk doesn't include the file, then you need to download a new boot
disk image and create the disk (unless you have another ME machine to create
the disk?) - use the OEM image from here
http://www.bootdisk.com/
download it, and run the program on a PC with a floppy drive (with a clean
floppy in it!) - it'll check the floppy, and create the boot disk.

-- if the scanreg.exe file date is anything other than 06-08-00, then create
a new disk

Noel Paton
CrashFixPC

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.co.uk
"Dell" wrote in message
news
Noel:
My apology for the dual thread.

Thanks for your prompt reply. I've followed your instructions to the
letter
but now I am at the "A:\" dos prompt and once I enter "scanreg /restore"
it
only says "Bad command or file name" I am not good with DOS Commands.

What am I doing wrong?
--
~Dell


"Noel Paton" wrote:

Wish I'd read this one before the other!
who/what is saying there's not enough space to load the registry??
it's loaded to memory, not the HD, so it should load the same today as it
did yesterday.
see the link in my response to your other post (next time please only
post
ONE thread at a time)

WRT the 'lack of space' - boot using a floppy drive, and delete the
ENTIRE
contents of the 'c:\windows\temp folder', and the ENTIRE contents of the
'c:\Windows\Temporary Internet Files' folder.
NOTE - do NOT delete the folders themselves!
you can do this easily using the command
DEL C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\*,*
DEL "C:\WINDOWS \TEMPORARY INTERNET FILES\*.*" (note the quotes are
required here)
see how much space that gets you back.

Again - run scanreg /restore from an ME boot floppy (do NOT use a Win98
boot
floppy!)

--
Noel Paton
CrashFixPC

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.co.uk
"Dell" wrote in message
...
I need to run scanreg /fix and cannot seem to boot into command prompt
to
do
so. Can anyone help?

Windows crashed and is trying to search for new hardware with the "Add
New
Hardware Wizard" due to a registry error whereas there is not enough
room
on
disk to load registry fully. What should I do?

Does anyone know what drivers I should direct the search to look for? I
would appreciate any help that I can get to resolve this issue. Thanks
in
advance.
--
~Dell
-spam-please




  #5  
Old May 6th 09, 11:09 PM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.software
Dell
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 6
Default run scanreg /fix and cannot seem to boot into command prompt

NOEL:

I have two boot disks and the file is not on either one. One was taken from
my desktop with ME on it. I could not figure how to open the file from
www.bootdisk.com to find out. What am I doing wrong now?
--
~Dell


"Noel Paton" wrote:

Yikes! It;s been so long since I worked in ME DOS that I've forgotten what
used to be automatic behavior!
At least you HAVE the disk - that's a good start.
When you booted it, you did see the Windows Millennium message? (just
checking)
usual reasons for this error message are

1) mis-spelling SCANREG
2) the wrong disk - or an OEM disk that's been *******ised.....
lemme see.....
if you type in VER at the a:\ prompt - you should get told that it's
Windows Millennium Edition
if you type DIR /O (that's Oh, not Zero) - you should get a list of files
that includes "scanreg.exe"
if your disk doesn't include the file, then you need to download a new boot
disk image and create the disk (unless you have another ME machine to create
the disk?) - use the OEM image from here
http://www.bootdisk.com/
download it, and run the program on a PC with a floppy drive (with a clean
floppy in it!) - it'll check the floppy, and create the boot disk.

-- if the scanreg.exe file date is anything other than 06-08-00, then create
a new disk

Noel Paton
CrashFixPC

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.co.uk
"Dell" wrote in message
news
Noel:
My apology for the dual thread.

Thanks for your prompt reply. I've followed your instructions to the
letter
but now I am at the "A:\" dos prompt and once I enter "scanreg /restore"
it
only says "Bad command or file name" I am not good with DOS Commands.

What am I doing wrong?
--
~Dell


"Noel Paton" wrote:

Wish I'd read this one before the other!
who/what is saying there's not enough space to load the registry??
it's loaded to memory, not the HD, so it should load the same today as it
did yesterday.
see the link in my response to your other post (next time please only
post
ONE thread at a time)

WRT the 'lack of space' - boot using a floppy drive, and delete the
ENTIRE
contents of the 'c:\windows\temp folder', and the ENTIRE contents of the
'c:\Windows\Temporary Internet Files' folder.
NOTE - do NOT delete the folders themselves!
you can do this easily using the command
DEL C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\*,*
DEL "C:\WINDOWS \TEMPORARY INTERNET FILES\*.*" (note the quotes are
required here)
see how much space that gets you back.

Again - run scanreg /restore from an ME boot floppy (do NOT use a Win98
boot
floppy!)

--
Noel Paton
CrashFixPC

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.co.uk
"Dell" wrote in message
...
I need to run scanreg /fix and cannot seem to boot into command prompt
to
do
so. Can anyone help?

Windows crashed and is trying to search for new hardware with the "Add
New
Hardware Wizard" due to a registry error whereas there is not enough
room
on
disk to load registry fully. What should I do?

Does anyone know what drivers I should direct the search to look for? I
would appreciate any help that I can get to resolve this issue. Thanks
in
advance.
--
~Dell
-spam-please




  #6  
Old May 7th 09, 12:05 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.software
Mike M
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 2,047
Default run scanreg /fix and cannot seem to boot into command prompt

Dell wrote:

NOEL:

I have two boot disks and the file is not on either one. One was
taken from my desktop with ME on it. I could not figure how to open
the file from www.bootdisk.com to find out. What am I doing wrong now?


Try instead entering
C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\SCANREG.EXE
at the A:\ prompt after booting from a boot floppy.
--
Mike Maltby


  #7  
Old May 7th 09, 01:20 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.software
Dell
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 6
Default run scanreg /fix and cannot seem to boot into command prompt

Mike Maltby:

Thanks the same but that did not work either. Does anyone know how I can
check to see if the files or applications we are looking fo even exist where
we suspect? What if the name of the windows directory was changed or
something? Would it still find these?
--
~Dell


"Mike M" wrote:

Dell wrote:

NOEL:

I have two boot disks and the file is not on either one. One was
taken from my desktop with ME on it. I could not figure how to open
the file from www.bootdisk.com to find out. What am I doing wrong now?


Try instead entering
C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\SCANREG.EXE
at the A:\ prompt after booting from a boot floppy.
--
Mike Maltby



  #8  
Old May 7th 09, 02:46 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.software
Dell
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 6
Default run scanreg /fix and cannot seem to boot into command prompt

Thanks to everyone for your kindhearted assistance. The problem was resolved!

The windows directory name had been changed. As soon as I discovered the
correct one all of your advice worked. God Bless!
--
~Dell


"Mike M" wrote:

Dell wrote:

NOEL:

I have two boot disks and the file is not on either one. One was
taken from my desktop with ME on it. I could not figure how to open
the file from www.bootdisk.com to find out. What am I doing wrong now?


Try instead entering
C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\SCANREG.EXE
at the A:\ prompt after booting from a boot floppy.
--
Mike Maltby



  #9  
Old May 7th 09, 09:00 AM posted to microsoft.public.windowsme.software
Noel Paton[_3_]
External Usenet User
 
Posts: 229
Default run scanreg /fix and cannot seem to boot into command prompt

Good News!
Thanks for coming back to let us know.

Good luck
--
Noel Paton
CrashFixPC

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.co.uk
"Dell" wrote in message
...
Thanks to everyone for your kindhearted assistance. The problem was
resolved!

The windows directory name had been changed. As soon as I discovered the
correct one all of your advice worked. God Bless!
--
~Dell


"Mike M" wrote:

Dell wrote:

NOEL:

I have two boot disks and the file is not on either one. One was
taken from my desktop with ME on it. I could not figure how to open
the file from www.bootdisk.com to find out. What am I doing wrong now?


Try instead entering
C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\SCANREG.EXE
at the A:\ prompt after booting from a boot floppy.
--
Mike Maltby




 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command Prompt Chris General 4 September 25th 05 04:14 AM
help!!! can only boot to command prompt only (corrupt files) korvorka General 2 April 30th 05 02:48 AM
Can not get command prompt Dhuri General 3 December 11th 04 10:59 PM
Command prompt CMAR Setup & Installation 0 October 1st 04 06:28 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 Win98banter.
The comments are property of their posters.